Croque-Monsieur Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I tried this sandwich, as written, and it was good but a bit too rich for me. Another reviewer called this sandwich a fake, which is wrong. This sandwich can be baked and broiled or fried in a pan, with or without Mornay or Bechamel sauce. Gruyère is traditionally used and is a Swiss cheese, although camembert or brie can be used. The version served with the egg on top is called a "Croque Madame". Made with tomatoes it's a "Croque Provencal," made with Bleu cheese a "Croque Auvergant." So you see, as with any recipe, there are probably as many variations as their are cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Very nice and fluffy sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Delicious, my husband and sons loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Maidstone, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
very good. Nice with a salad and cup of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris53182

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Very, very rich, but oh so good! I made it w/ mustard on the side and smoked turkey instead of ham to accomodate everyone. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
A true Croque-Monsieur isn't battered....it's a grilled ham & cheese sandwich, covered in a cheese sauce & broiled for a few minutes. While not typical, this version is tasty. I used honey wheat bread & because of reviews syaing the batter was heavy, I copied M.A.H. & used a liberal amount of butter-flavor Pam to fry them in. Hubby didn't think it would work but it did...beautifully! The crust was perfect... not greasy or heavy & they didn't stick although I did use a non-stick saute skillet. I served them w/ Michel Richard’s Cold Cherry Soup, (google the recipe) which was the perfect accompaniment. Thanks for the recipe Teresa Neff...we enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
My husband and I were really hungry late one evening so we whipped this up and it hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lynn  Pullman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
OMG, this was delicious. My only critique would be to eat it right away, or it will 'gell' up on you and not be as good (as with any fried food). I added onions to this and sauted mushrooms in olive oil (evoo to all you chefs out there!). I have been out of the country for about 3 months so I haven't had a chance to make my sandwiches, and I made several on this site before my son and I left. This was the best out of three or four that we tried so it gets rated first! After I unpack...I will be back!!!! To rate more of course....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boonesdaddy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
These were ok, but I think the batter was too heavy and they could use some additional flavor, like maybe garlic salt. It was fun to try though- we ate these for dinner with Leek Soup and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
A bit greasy but very rich and filling. I made it with both Swiss and Provolone. Thanks, Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States