Croque-Monsieur Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
4 1/2 stars, very rich,next time might eliminate the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Make something very similar ...... but the best thing is ...... use your foreman grill ...... eliminates the greasiness .. gives a nice golden brown slightly crunchy crust .......soft melty center ....perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
delicious, easy to make and very filling! I really recommend, to give it a bit of a more serious tone, to put gruyere cheese with a bit of salami. And to make it a little more complex, for a brunch or something you can change the bread, anything that is not too thick and that you can use for a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Very good! The combination of flavors was great. I only had potato bread, so I used that. I will definately make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I love making these for lunch! I use pretty much any deli cuts I have; turkey, chicken, ham with swiss, or havarti and of course dijon mustard. I dont like putting mayo in and i like frying in butter - but not too much. served with a pickle on the side or a little salad - who could ask for more in a quick, easy and very tasty lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious! It does taste similar to a Monte Cristo, but who cares. I followed the recipe almost to a tee, except that I used American and mozzarella cheese since it was what I had on hand. My husband liked this so much that he asked to have it again the next night--so we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
These were good - I liked it with a pasta salad. However, they were a bit of a hassle, or maybe I should say messy. I'm not much into having to dip stuff unless it's really worth it, and I haven't decided yet if these were worth it. I made it exactly as is, except... the first side of the first one I forgot to dip it first. :-) But after it had partially fried, I dipped it anyway and re-fried and it came out none the worse for wear. I didn't find them too gooey or anything like that - they stayed together and kept their shape *once cooked*. In fact, overall this wasn't as messy as a Monte Cristo recipe that I made once years ago. The one thing I do have to add, though, is how annoying I find it when ingredients are out of order! It's SOO much easier to follow them in order, and to make sure you didn't miss something, and it's not exactly difficult to get them in order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Awesome topped with a bechamel sauce! Requested regularly =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbluv00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I didn't find it to be gooey in the center at all. I've now made this three times and have found that it's healthier AND got better flavor if you eliminate the mustard and mayo and use part skim swiss cheese. I also used egg whites instead of whole eggs and sprinkled those with some pepper and salt for added flavor. If you use part skim cheese, it is harder to melt, so therefore, it won't be as "gooey" if you aren't a fan of goo. I saved myself tons of calories with a tastier sandwich, in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Okay what I discovered was ... cut up the sandwich into quarters before dunking and cooking and make smaller portions BECAUSE otherwise it is VERY gooey in the center and I found people where pulling everything out of the sandwich once it was cut in half for eating. Other than this...it was delicious and I'll be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States