Croque-Monsieur Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Very good! The combination of flavors was great. I only had potato bread, so I used that. I will definately make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I love making these for lunch! I use pretty much any deli cuts I have; turkey, chicken, ham with swiss, or havarti and of course dijon mustard. I dont like putting mayo in and i like frying in butter - but not too much. served with a pickle on the side or a little salad - who could ask for more in a quick, easy and very tasty lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious! It does taste similar to a Monte Cristo, but who cares. I followed the recipe almost to a tee, except that I used American and mozzarella cheese since it was what I had on hand. My husband liked this so much that he asked to have it again the next night--so we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
These were good - I liked it with a pasta salad. However, they were a bit of a hassle, or maybe I should say messy. I'm not much into having to dip stuff unless it's really worth it, and I haven't decided yet if these were worth it. I made it exactly as is, except... the first side of the first one I forgot to dip it first. :-) But after it had partially fried, I dipped it anyway and re-fried and it came out none the worse for wear. I didn't find them too gooey or anything like that - they stayed together and kept their shape *once cooked*. In fact, overall this wasn't as messy as a Monte Cristo recipe that I made once years ago. The one thing I do have to add, though, is how annoying I find it when ingredients are out of order! It's SOO much easier to follow them in order, and to make sure you didn't miss something, and it's not exactly difficult to get them in order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Awesome topped with a bechamel sauce! Requested regularly =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbluv00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I didn't find it to be gooey in the center at all. I've now made this three times and have found that it's healthier AND got better flavor if you eliminate the mustard and mayo and use part skim swiss cheese. I also used egg whites instead of whole eggs and sprinkled those with some pepper and salt for added flavor. If you use part skim cheese, it is harder to melt, so therefore, it won't be as "gooey" if you aren't a fan of goo. I saved myself tons of calories with a tastier sandwich, in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Okay what I discovered was ... cut up the sandwich into quarters before dunking and cooking and make smaller portions BECAUSE otherwise it is VERY gooey in the center and I found people where pulling everything out of the sandwich once it was cut in half for eating. Other than this...it was delicious and I'll be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This is actually more of a Monte Cristo than a Croque Monsieur. Monte Cristo's are battered. But the sandwich was still very good. My family really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinky

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I tried this sandwich, as written, and it was good but a bit too rich for me. Another reviewer called this sandwich a fake, which is wrong. This sandwich can be baked and broiled or fried in a pan, with or without Mornay or Bechamel sauce. Gruyère is traditionally used and is a Swiss cheese, although camembert or brie can be used. The version served with the egg on top is called a "Croque Madame". Made with tomatoes it's a "Croque Provencal," made with Bleu cheese a "Croque Auvergant." So you see, as with any recipe, there are probably as many variations as their are cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Very nice and fluffy sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Quick Quiche

This dense, flavorful quiche doesn't need a crust to be a brunch star.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States