Croque Monsieur Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made as suggested with minimal changes - my girlfriend tells me it's one of the five best dishes she's ever had in her life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
A delectable concoction, I prepared this just as directed. We all love it and I've served it several times. My son usually likes only American cheese, but he doesn't take a pass on this one. I had no trouble with the cheese sauce separating - I just use a large whisk on it. I find the gouda about impossible to grate, so I just cut it into small pieces. Ordinarily, I would think that sourdough would be too strong a flavor, but I use Pepperidge Farm, and, when grilled, it adds just the right, not too "bitey" flavor. This is a treat for the palate any way you slice it. The sauce would be excellent for many uses. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I have had this sandwich in France they made it almost like this with a few extras it was as good as any in France use gruyere cheese inside and put some on top and bake it in a 400 degree oven and there you go yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
WOW! This recipe is a keeper! This was my first time trying Croque Monsieur of any kind and I loved it. It was very easy to make. After reading some other reviews about how the sauce could be difficult I was a little worried but had no problems with separation at all. My advice is to definitely try this recipe. Very easy and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Delicious! Brought me back to junior year abroad in Paris and my favorite brunch place near the Tuileries. My only comment to this recipe is the order of business - because of the delicate nature of making the cheese sauce & keeping it from separating, I would put the butter & mustard on the bread slices first and then, while the griddle or skillet is heating up, make the cheese sauce - then you can throw the bread, ham (I used mortadella), and cheese on right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amelia Schmertz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I absolutely LOVED this recipe. You should probably use 1/8 of a cup of butter since 1/4 was a tad excessive. Otherwise, the sandwich was delicieux :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is a great, simple recipe that people will love to eat; it's one of the most popular lunch dishes the the French bistro down the street from my office. Some changes I would make: *Use Swiss cheese instead of Gouda *Add a clove of minced garlic to the cheese sauce along with the salt and pepper. *I wouldn't use sourdough for this, I think it interferes with the delicate tastes of the sauce. Instead, just use some sort of french loaf. For those that are having issues with the sauce, what Sarah didn't point out in her original directions is that you are actually making a White Roux. To help make it consistent and easy, heat the heavy cream and wine to just below boiling. Then start melting the butter in another sauce pan. Once the butter is melted, whisk in the flour and stir until the mixture begins to bubble. Remove from heat and whisk in the hot cream and wine mixture. Return to the heat and add cheese, stirring until the cheese is melted. By heating the cream/wine first and insuring that the roux is bubbling, you should get a great sauce every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I love a good croque monsieur, but I thought this was a lot of effort for a so-so dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Skip the cream sauce for an authentic french sandwich. top the sandwich with swiss cheese and broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Eh, I dunno...it may just be my inexperience with whisking, but I found the sauce very difficult to make and could not stop it from separating. It was fine--we made French toast instead. I don't think I'd try to make this again, at least, not for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States