Croque Madame Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Difficult to rate, as I'm uncertain at what consistency the melted butter/cheese is to be at to not burn, but make it easy to coat the bread. So I expect that my attempt was more a cobbling of the ingredients than the complete blending and presentation I would imagine is involved in a French treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I saw the beautiful photo of this sandwich this morning and had everything in stock to make it. I made one for DH and one for me. His didn't turn out too well since the cheddar cheese mixture was really globby and I couldn't get it to soak into the bread and had to sort of spread the cheese on. But the second time I didn't add the full one cup of cheese to the butter. maybe a wee bit over a half cup, and used Colby Jack instead of Cheddar. It melted much better than the cheddar did. Once it reached a well mixed taffy like texture I removed from the heat and put my thick slice of white bread on it and sort of soaked the mix in it like a sponge, then quickly removed it to the fry pan already heated on medium and ready, threw on the ham slices and then soaked up the rest of the cheese mixture with second piece of bread moving it and dabbing it until no mixture was left. Timing seems to be the key and the longer you wait the cheese mix starts to gob up. You may also want to start your egg while cooking the sandwich, or the sandwich gets pretty cool waiting for the egg. I liked the taste of the crusty cheese bread and the oozing egg yolk on top. Was a very nice breakfast treat. Just have everything out and ready and be prepared to have a bit of clean-up. But tasted very good and worth the extra work. My husband loved his even though it wasn't exactly pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I had this when I went to Versaille and it's exactly the recipe made it turn out almost exactly the same way! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Made it for Christmas breakfast. Yummy! We used french bread and cut them into thick slices and they are so good! I melted my cheese over a make-shift double boiler (a glass container over simmering water in a saucepan) as I was afraid that the cheese might stick to the pan. Took a while for the cheese to melt, but it did eventually. Dipped the bread into the cheese (had to spread the cheese a little) and quickly put it on the already heated skillet. Great breakfast for special occasions as the colours of this sandwich is bright and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I wasn't sure how this was going to turn out, since the cheese melted into a ball that was almost impossible to dip bread into. I pretty much had to spread the melted cheese on the bread. It was also hard to brown it, because the cheese stuck to the pan. But when it was all done, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was fun, easy and tasty- my whole family agreed. I threw several different cheeses into my saucepan (mild white English cheddar, yellow cheddar and some monteray jack). It was interesting how, at one point, the cheese was almost a taffy consistency. Once you reach that point, you're almost there. This is very rich, and definitely not diet food. It is super yummy though. Thanks, Alyssa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Quick and easy to make, and oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetPepper13
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was oh so good! I swear my taste buds were singing the hallelujah chorus. This was so quick and easy to make and very filling. The only thing I did differently was to thinly slice the cheddar cheese since 1) I wasn't keen to have another item - the grater - to clean up. Lol and 2) I saw some persons had issues with getting the shredded cheese to melt properly. It came out perfectly! I feel a little guilty about the cholesterol content of this meal but I'll get over it. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPepper13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cave Hill, Saint Michael, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I would have rated this higher but I had a lot of difficulty getting the cheese to a proper consistency. I ended up thinning it out with a bit of milk but I still had to kind of spread it on. I think maybe using a proper melting cheese would improve this a lot. Other then that though it was quite good, everyone in my family (including the kids!) enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States