Crookneck Squash and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I don't care for crookneck squash, but had some in my farm produce delivery. I decided to try this recipe and was definitely not disappointed. It's very tasty, giving the squash a flavor I like. For the mustard I used stone ground dijon. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheocon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Finally a way to prepare squash withoutfrying that my family actually enjoyed. I made this for a side dish for a sunday Dinner, and it was devoured.Everyone has asked me to make this for our Thanksgiving dinner. I am very delighted with this recipe....Thanks to lovetocook1966.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I tried this one out on a group of friends as a side to our Steak's on the grill, I added mushrooms and some zuccini we had lying around. I think the mushrooms gave it too much liquid -- next time I think we'll just through them on the grill instead. Thanks for the recipe. I love trying new ways to make veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This is very good. A nice change from plain steamed squash. Make sure to use the whole amount for the squash & tomato or adjust the sauce. The first time I made it I only used 2 of each and the sauce was over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Hmmm. I really like the tangy flavor that the vinegar and mustard bring to this dish...but there is something missing that will take this dish from good to great. I just can't put my finger on it right now. I added vegan "parmesan" sheese topping and that helped. Still trying to think about what's missing. Maybe toasted nuts? A fresh herb? I'm stumped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Followed recipe exactly. Had squash and tomatoes from our garden. We like to try all kinds of different recipes, but this one didn't go over as we thought. Beautiful presentation, not crazy for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Shepherdstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Very tasty. I am so bored with plain squash, and this definitely cured it. I'll prepare this for the family next weekend to see how it goes over. I have a feeling it will be a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
ok this is my lowest rating ever. the combination was a bigg hit but it took longer to cook then was mentioned. the sauce/marinade was not enough to reach all veggies. might make again but with more sauce and a little longer to suit my personal taste. thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Wonderful flavor. I was desperate one night & realized this can easily be done stove top. I mixed the sauce together with the exception of the olive oil & put tomatoes into it. Then sauteed the squash seasoned with salt & pepper in the olive oil until it was almost done. Added the tomatoes & green onion until just softened. Was ready in less than 12 minutes. I do love the oven version too, but sometimes forget about my veggies or someone shows up & I need extra so I have to compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Tangy and interesting. Be careful not to over cook as the tomatoes will get mushy. This makes for a beautiful presentation and is so easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States