Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Although they didn't rise as much as I had hoped, the croissants had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
The first time I tried this recipe, I completely messed it up, but I decided to give it another try, and they turned out perfect, and tasted just like real French croissants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
it doesn't turn out like a croissant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
extremely bland...not worth the 8 hour preparation time it took... if I do make this again then I think I'll add way more butter for taste, I was really in the mood for croissants today, I hope another croissant recipe will be posted on here soon so that I can try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I made these for my class and they loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This is a great recipe! The rolls came out tender and buttery on the inside and crisp and flaky on the outside. I have made these twice now and my family and I love them. It is well woth the work you have to put into them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Original, but they were better than the fresh crossiants in France.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I was disappointed with the results of this recipe. The croissants turned out greasy and extremely salty. I know croissants are difficult to make, but I don't think this was due to my inexperience. However, I did make one change, and I think it's only fair to tell you about it - I used a chilled cheese slicer to slice the butter thinly, and I placed the thin slices on the rolled out dough, then mashed slightly with my fingers to soften the butter and make it malleable. I did this because I didn't think there would be any way for me to handle the butter according to the recipe without melting it. I have since read in other recipes that you are supposed to smash the butter with a rolling pin and roll it between two towels. Anyway, after all that work and anticipation, I will probably end up throwing these out. I just don't like the flavour at all. They taste like greasy French toast. They do have a nice crispy outside and a tender inside, though. If I were to make these again, I'd decrease the salt to 1 teaspoon, and I'd decrease the butter by 2-3 tablespoons. The croissants were actually frying in the butter while baking, and that was a bit gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Indeed, quite some work but mmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Almere, Flevoland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
There something very wrong with this recipe. I followed it to a T, but the dough remained a sticky batter and never firmed up enough to knead by hand. I feared adding extra flour (although another recipe I looked at required 1 lb.) because no other reviewers mentioned it needing more and I didn't want to screw it up, figuring croissants are more delicate than ordinary bread. A huge waste of time and ingredients for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States