Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These are yummy and easy enough to make as long as you have the time. I agree with the other reviews that the dough is a bit sticky but I used a pastry mat and had no problems at all. (You've gotta get one if you do much baking at all) They came out flaky and tasty but they didn't taste as I expected. They tasted like normal dinner rolls to me. Maybe it was something that I did, but the experience at the end wasn't what I had been anticipating. I plan to try several other variations of croissant recipes before I settle on one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITEVYLET

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Great recipe!! Super time consuming, but absolutely delicious...flaky, golden, delicate...just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
The basic recipe is great. However, I think the oven temperature is too high. My first batch burned. I later found that other recipes said to bake at 425. I did that with my next batch and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Lizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Great recipe. Comes out flaky and makes your house smell great. I did the folding routine 2 extra times. Never let your butter get too soft/melted. It'll saturate the dough and come out gummy. I took my triangles and rolled them out a bit more into isoceles. I also pinched the ends together to make lil circles. Cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This recipe is fundamentally sound; there are no gaping problems. But for a beginner like myself, generally unfamiliar with the matter of making croissants, the directions are spartan and sometimes are overly vague (massaging butter? how long to let rise exactly? etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I'm a novice cook and this was my first time attempting croissants. They came out great-light, flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Turned out amazing. Just take your time and be patient!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Made the recipe according to the directions, but i got a bit I'm patient and forgot about them for awhile as i got my errands run. Work out extremely well! Turned these into chocolate croissants and my family ate them up as soon as they were out of the oven! ( rolled out the dough thinner than asked cut squares and placed a small handful of chocolate chips inside, then folded the square in half-rolled-and baked!) Very delicious with a cup of coffee or espresso! Will Defiantly make again!!! Got a new bread machine so i am excited to take a short cut! will update when i do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe's Bone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by hayliegrace
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
At risk of stating the obvious, this takes a really long time but I found it really entertaining and fun! I used half the butter that the recipe said to use, and even then when rolling up and then using the rolling pin to smooth it out, the butter still wanted to ooze out. Also, the next time I make these, I will turn the oven down because the bases were starting to burn and so were the tops of them, but on the inside they were still not cooked all the way. All in all, I really fun recipe to try out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hayliegrace
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These are fantastic, they take a heckuva long time to make, but are so worth the effort! Thanks for clearing up the mystery behind making them...they are actually not that complicated at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States