Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was my first time making croissants and I was very pleased with how they turned out. I needed to add a little more flour while kneeding to keep them from being too sticky. Also, since they are very time consuming to make, I had to leave them in the refrigerator over night on the second two hour rise. This worked out better so that I could finish them off before breakfast and they were still warm from the oven. My children helped roll them and loved them even more since they got to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PartyLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These croissants could save the world!! We followed the recipe exactly as written, other than adding 1/4 cup of flour. They looked perfect and tasted even better. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. It's pretty humid here all the time, so I end up adding a bit more flour. Every time I make them they turn out just like the bakery croissants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Yum! My kids want me to make them everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Shorr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was my first time making croissants from scratch. The recipe was pretty easy to follow and the first six we made turned out great. After reworking the dough a few times, though, the last 6 were more like bread rolls. The dough seemed to need a lot more flour than the stated amount as it ended up being quite wet when made up as spelled out here. I probably used at least another 1/2c, maybe as much as 1c extra flour! To be honest, I think I'll try another recipe next time, just to see if there's something better out there. It was good, but not amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was a good recipe. As a first timer, I didn't even expect them to turn out okay, but they were awesome. Needs almost 2 cups flour for the milk used. And it took me more than half an hour in a 250 D c oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These were awesome. It was our first time making Croissants so I watched a youtube video (which I recommend if you've never done this) just to see the rolling and butter part but followed this recipe and they were pretty much perfect. I think I will lower the temp next time but flavor and flakiness were great. I used european style butter and baked them on a silpat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenGC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I have made these croissants three times now, and they are amazing! My son, a grouchy teenager, goes absolutely nuts for these. Here are a few things I've learned/suggestions: As mentioned in other reviews, sometimes your may have to add more flour if the dough is too sticky/wet to knead. Add a little at a time until you get that nice, smooth, elastic dough. I bake them at 450 degrees instead of the recommended 475, but that's probably because my oven tends to be off by a few degrees on the warm side. I line the cookie sheet that I bake them on with parchment paper. This keeps the bottoms from burning and makes cleanup very easy. I only bake what we need and keep the unused dough in the plastic bag. The croissants are just as delicious two days later as they were when the dough was fresh. Since making these is an all-day affair, you can keep this in mind if you would like to make the dough on a day when you don't have much going on, and then bake them on another day. One more thing, my son loves these as pigs-in-a-blanket. I roll out the croissant, add a half slice cheese and half hotdog, roll up and bake as directed. Insanely good! Thanks so much for this awesome recipe. P.S. Had to edit this to give it five stars. I accidentally gave it one star, and this recipe deserves the full five plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These were good, and I know I can make them now. I don't think I ever need to do that again though. Lots of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Athenarose
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I use to make croissants in culinary school so I had a idea of how labor intense the recipe was before going into this. I also remember how many times you had to fold the dough and reroll (thankfully we hand a dough sheeter), in order to get those nice flaky layers. I followed this recipe word for word, only thing is I made the dough the day before I needed it and cut and rolled the day of. They came out great, tasted like croissants, they were a great size and so pretty. The next day (the day after I baked them) they tasted stale but I think this is a type of pastry that only taste best really fresh. I will make these again, going to try and make them twice as big to recreate a sandwich I get over here made on a fresh criossant, although the orginal recipes sizes are big enough for a good size sandwich. TY Kate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States