Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jan Walker
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Had no problems making these, have done them before with a different recipe. Think they needed to be baked a little more, as they collapsed! Taste was good, I got them nice & neat looking but they were difficult to cut or eat because they just weren't crisp enough on the outside. Tasted good, most of them looked good (ones on top of basket anyhow!!)...next time baking longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I started these late last night so they would be ready to bake for breakfast this morning. I didn't find anything too difficult about the recipe or directions. I misread the temperature and baked at 400 instead of 475 degrees so I think that's why they came out a little doughy in the middle. Other than that they were delicious and worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Before making these, I read most of the reviews and braced myself for the worst. I have made many types of breads from baguettes and sourdoughs to quick breads and muffins, but I never attempted to make croissants before since the instructions all seem a bit labor intensive. Work at your own pace. You don't have to sit waiting for the 20 minute or 2 hrs to pass. It's ok if you leave the dough chilling longer. As for comments on stickiness/dryness of dough, no recipe will produce perfect results everytime. You have to take into consideration how humid it is and what type of flour you use to get it just right. Ultimately you want to be able to knead the dough and form a dough ball. So if it is sticky, add more flour while you knead. If it is super dry, add a bit more milk or water. I made whole wheat croissants accidently (grabbed whole wheat flour instead of unbleached flour). I didn't notice until everything was mixed. So I doubled the recipe (only used 1 1/4 tsp yeast total) and regular flour for the other half. Even the tiniest bit of yeast will rise a large amount of dough, just give it more time if yours is not rising and check yeast expiration date. If the water is too hot, it will kill the yeast and not give a rise. To conquer the oozing butter, I sliced my butter with a knife. Nothing fancy. I laid butter on dough, no spreading or patting, and then folded and rolled. Touching the dough will melt the butter so work quickly and hands off. I didn't measure for cutting.YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Huang
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Perfect croissant, fresh from the oven is just beautiful, just like in a little French bakery. I made some au chocolat, that was hands down the best! Followed the 20min freeze/40min chill method, thinly sliced chilled butter with my knife, didn't smear, just pat it into the dough gently. Did it in 4-5 hours. Will roll out the rest of the dough tonight to rise slowly, and bake it first thing in the morning. Can just imagine the smell in the house early in the morning. Life is beautiful when you have a croissant with a hot latte, without even leaving the house! Thank you for sharing this beautiful recipe. I feel accomplished and fulfilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I'll admit, I didn't really follow the recipe very well, but they still turned out really nicely (I'm sure they would've been better had I followed the directions, lol). I used honey instead of sugar, didn't follow the times very well, or rolling methods. Further, I added a bit of [frozen] ganache to the middle of the croissants before I rolled them. Alas, they're pretty delicious-- especially with the honey glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was my first time making croissants and I was very pleased with how they turned out. I needed to add a little more flour while kneeding to keep them from being too sticky. Also, since they are very time consuming to make, I had to leave them in the refrigerator over night on the second two hour rise. This worked out better so that I could finish them off before breakfast and they were still warm from the oven. My children helped roll them and loved them even more since they got to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PartyLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These croissants could save the world!! We followed the recipe exactly as written, other than adding 1/4 cup of flour. They looked perfect and tasted even better. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. It's pretty humid here all the time, so I end up adding a bit more flour. Every time I make them they turn out just like the bakery croissants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Yum! My kids want me to make them everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Shorr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was my first time making croissants from scratch. The recipe was pretty easy to follow and the first six we made turned out great. After reworking the dough a few times, though, the last 6 were more like bread rolls. The dough seemed to need a lot more flour than the stated amount as it ended up being quite wet when made up as spelled out here. I probably used at least another 1/2c, maybe as much as 1c extra flour! To be honest, I think I'll try another recipe next time, just to see if there's something better out there. It was good, but not amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States