Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I made these for my class and they loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This is a great recipe! The rolls came out tender and buttery on the inside and crisp and flaky on the outside. I have made these twice now and my family and I love them. It is well woth the work you have to put into them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
After trying 4 different croissant recipes with no sucess, this one worked!! The croissants were light, flaky and tastes great. I used a little more flour as well used pastry four instead of all-purpose. It made them a little more lighter. I cheated too and made the dough in the bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
The first time I tried this recipe, I completely messed it up, but I decided to give it another try, and they turned out perfect, and tasted just like real French croissants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I've only made these once, but I'll definitely try them again to see if I can get them perfected a bit more. I didn't have any trouble with the butter/rolling/folding/chilling process. That all went just fine. However, after shaping them (which I also need practice doing), I had trouble getting them to rise. If you put them somewhere warm to rise, the butter will melt and ooze out. When I discovered that happening with half of them, I put them in the oven directly. So, I'm not sure if I should put them back in the fridge to rise (and take forever doing so) or what. Anyway, they came out pretty well, crisp and flaky on the outside and soft in the inside. About half the bottoms got very toasty from the oozing butter mentioned earlier. As others have said, the recipe is good, but it will take some practice to get it right. *Update* On my second try, I made only 6 larger croissants and let them rise in a cool spot overnight and they puffed up beautifully. The butter didn't melt out of them while they were rising :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I made these three days ago and am starting another batch today. I used my bread machine on the dough cycle but added 1/4 cup more flour as the dough was so soft it stayed on top of the paddle and was about to come out of the pan when mixing. The extra flour helped greatly. After the first rise I took the paddle out and let it rise again in the then turned off machine as it was nice and warm inside. My kitchen was very cold that day. I also didn't let the butter get soft enough, so just sliced it and put it on. This worked out great. Being a retired Grandma, I had all day to play with this. I made them quite small. I got 24 total. I made half one day and let the remainder wrapped in plastic for two days in the fridge. Baked the remainder yesterday and they were fabulous. Hubby loved them. WARNING. Do not bake these on a pizza pan with holes. Smoke from burned butter is not a good thing. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I used salted butter and cut the salt in half. I also used an instant yeast that cut the time needed for rising. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Be careful when selecting your flour. Higher protein flours (like bread flour)absorb more water. If you use something with less protein (bleached all-purpose, cake flour...) you'll need to add more flour to keep it from getting soupy. Use cold butter and work fast so it won't get greasy. You want a thin blanket of butter beneath each layer of dough to build the flaky layers. If your butter melts, it will incorporate with the dough and saturate it. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Original, but they were better than the fresh crossiants in France.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I cheated a bit and let my bread machine work up the dough, adding just a tablespoon more of flour to keep the dough from sticking to the sides when I realized it looked a bit sticky. The dough cycle seemed to work well and did the first "punch down" so that I could wrap and refrigerate it. I used salted butter and could have skipped some of the salt in the recipe, but I'm not restricted (yet)... I don't like bland! The butter was room temp so spread on easily. I didn't do a lot of kneading with the spread and fold process since I didn't want the warm butter to affect the dough, so quickly put it back in the fridge for the next stages of cooling and rolling. I also didn't get too preoccupied with the sizes of the rectangles... just rolled the dough to apx 1/4 inch each time and went on. Even the last step... 5x15", then 5x5"... rolling to apx. 10x10", then cutting in fourths to 5x5" is easier. But I had a whole day to play with this, had never made croissants before and got them made. The sizes are small so if you want big croissants you'd better cut them into 6 rolls instead of 12. I expected butter to ooze out of them during baking... it's what butter dough does, so be prepared with a pan with slight edges to it. I also overbaked mine at 15 min, making them darker and crusty on the outside, but ooooh the flavor and tenderness on the inside. Yum yesterday and YUM today with a bit of jelly for breakfast! If there are any left by noon the kids will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States