Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was my first attempt and my results were average. I had a feeling it was the recipe and not me. The dough in this recipe is to stiff/ hard to roll out and did not rise. I found another recipe and used part cake flour, increased sugar; increased yeast;increased butter and used half and half for the final wash and used 2 overnight refrigerator proofs and the results came out PERFECT! Exactly like the kind you buy in the small bakeries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollygolightly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This recipe can be much easier and quicker. Made the dough with KitchenAid using 4 3/4 cups flour and skipping the oil for a DOUBLE batch. Only used 2 tsp salt. This works for me: Follow steps 1 and 2 but skip second rise. Deflate and chill 20 minutes (or overnight). Slice chilled butter into 18 slices with a cheese slicer. Working with half the dough at a time (which is 12 croissants), roll dough into a 8 x 12 inch rectangle. (Put remaining butter and dough in refrigerator to keep cold.) Lay half the butter (9 slices) over top two thirds, leaving 1/2 inch margin all around. Fold unbuttered third over middle third, and buttered top third down over that. Seal edges. **Turn 90°, so that folds are to left and right. Roll out to a long rectangle. Fold in three again. Roll again, and fold again. (That's folding 3 times.)## (Flour surface if dough becomes sticky but excess flour will prevent dough from sticking to itself.) Put dough in a plastic bag. Freeze for 20 min. and refrigerate for 40 min. Unwrap and repeat from ** to ##. Immediately roll and shape dough. Let rise 2-3 hrs, covered, at room temp (it's winter and my kitchen isn't really warm). (Egg wash is important for appearance.) Bake on baking stone for 15 min. at 425°F. Remove to cool. (Croissants will seem doughy until completely cool.) Start to finish 4 hrs 15 min. 1 star recipe as written. OUTSTANDING recipe with some tweaks. Guests didn't know I made them until I told them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Amazing. I put mini-areo bars in it to make chocolate ones. My husband loves me for this :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I didn't know baking croissants would take so much time! But this recipe is good. I made a few change, I let the dough chill 1 hour after every fold, then let the croissants rise 1 hour before baking, and baked at 450F. The croissants turned out flaky, and crunchy, and good! But somehow they were a little bit salty, I'll reduce the amount of salt next time. Anyway, it worths all the waiting and rolling ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I have made this recipe twice now - they are excellent!! If you want them bigger then at the last part don't cut dough again but the recipe will only make 6. I made 3 recipes at once (separate bowls) and added chocolate chips before I rolled them up then the next time I added blueberry pie filling to some and cherry to others - OH MY!! The second time making them goes much quicker - this whole process takes almost 8 hours but you can cut it down by putting the dough in the freezer for about 20 minutes then the fridge for 40 instead of the fridge for 2 hours. Also, I only used a stick of butter/recipe instead of 2/3 cup and that was plenty....not greasy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Did not come out right at all... tasted like bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuisineGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Epic failure for me :( But I'm not completely blaming the recipe. It never rose like it was supposed to. Mine turned out grainy and very dense. I substituted pastry Flour, and in step 2 I added yeast to the warm milk before mixing with flour. I haven't made many breads/pastries but of all the recipes I looked at or used I have always seen to add yeast to a warm liquid 1st. It chilled overnight. (2nd chill) Other than that I followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I've only made these once, but I'll definitely try them again to see if I can get them perfected a bit more. I didn't have any trouble with the butter/rolling/folding/chilling process. That all went just fine. However, after shaping them (which I also need practice doing), I had trouble getting them to rise. If you put them somewhere warm to rise, the butter will melt and ooze out. When I discovered that happening with half of them, I put them in the oven directly. So, I'm not sure if I should put them back in the fridge to rise (and take forever doing so) or what. Anyway, they came out pretty well, crisp and flaky on the outside and soft in the inside. About half the bottoms got very toasty from the oozing butter mentioned earlier. As others have said, the recipe is good, but it will take some practice to get it right. *Update* On my second try, I made only 6 larger croissants and let them rise in a cool spot overnight and they puffed up beautifully. The butter didn't melt out of them while they were rising :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Be careful when selecting your flour. Higher protein flours (like bread flour)absorb more water. If you use something with less protein (bleached all-purpose, cake flour...) you'll need to add more flour to keep it from getting soupy. Use cold butter and work fast so it won't get greasy. You want a thin blanket of butter beneath each layer of dough to build the flaky layers. If your butter melts, it will incorporate with the dough and saturate it. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
After trying 4 different croissant recipes with no sucess, this one worked!! The croissants were light, flaky and tastes great. I used a little more flour as well used pastry four instead of all-purpose. It made them a little more lighter. I cheated too and made the dough in the bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States