Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This recipe is fundamentally sound; there are no gaping problems. But for a beginner like myself, generally unfamiliar with the matter of making croissants, the directions are spartan and sometimes are overly vague (massaging butter? how long to let rise exactly? etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I'm a novice cook and this was my first time attempting croissants. They came out great-light, flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Turned out amazing. Just take your time and be patient!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Made the recipe according to the directions, but i got a bit I'm patient and forgot about them for awhile as i got my errands run. Work out extremely well! Turned these into chocolate croissants and my family ate them up as soon as they were out of the oven! ( rolled out the dough thinner than asked cut squares and placed a small handful of chocolate chips inside, then folded the square in half-rolled-and baked!) Very delicious with a cup of coffee or espresso! Will Defiantly make again!!! Got a new bread machine so i am excited to take a short cut! will update when i do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe's Bone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by hayliegrace
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
At risk of stating the obvious, this takes a really long time but I found it really entertaining and fun! I used half the butter that the recipe said to use, and even then when rolling up and then using the rolling pin to smooth it out, the butter still wanted to ooze out. Also, the next time I make these, I will turn the oven down because the bases were starting to burn and so were the tops of them, but on the inside they were still not cooked all the way. All in all, I really fun recipe to try out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hayliegrace
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These are fantastic, they take a heckuva long time to make, but are so worth the effort! Thanks for clearing up the mystery behind making them...they are actually not that complicated at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I was very impressed with this recipe. Though time-consuming, this recipe produces a pretty great croissant! Mine BURNED, so next time, I will need to cook for just a minute or two less. But otherwise, delicious and very decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
These were delicious! I made one batch as written and then made a second batch and put chocolate chips in before rolling up. My husband was in heaven! When in France he loves chocolate croissants and now he is excited that I can also make them at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Turned out really well, recipe was easy to follow, and the flavour was really good. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was my first attempt and my results were average. I had a feeling it was the recipe and not me. The dough in this recipe is to stiff/ hard to roll out and did not rise. I found another recipe and used part cake flour, increased sugar; increased yeast;increased butter and used half and half for the final wash and used 2 overnight refrigerator proofs and the results came out PERFECT! Exactly like the kind you buy in the small bakeries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollygolightly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States