Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Athenarose
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I use to make croissants in culinary school so I had a idea of how labor intense the recipe was before going into this. I also remember how many times you had to fold the dough and reroll (thankfully we hand a dough sheeter), in order to get those nice flaky layers. I followed this recipe word for word, only thing is I made the dough the day before I needed it and cut and rolled the day of. They came out great, tasted like croissants, they were a great size and so pretty. The next day (the day after I baked them) they tasted stale but I think this is a type of pastry that only taste best really fresh. I will make these again, going to try and make them twice as big to recreate a sandwich I get over here made on a fresh criossant, although the orginal recipes sizes are big enough for a good size sandwich. TY Kate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
The best! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Whatever you do, don't try letting the dough rise in what you *think* is a barely warm oven after you've added the butter. I tried this after the croissants were shaped, and ended up with unrisen dough in little pools of butter. On the plus side, they were delicious...even flat. I baked them even though they looked done for. And they appeared to suck up the melted butter during baking. The next batch was much better, but didn't rise a whole lot either. After the first batch, but it was fairly cool in my kitchen, and I was understandably a little gun-shy about trying to speed up the rise! Regardless, they were flaky, flavorful, and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I fudged this the first time with too much butter, I think. Honestly, the directions are a tiny bit confusing, but after reading the reviews and a helpful hint about chilling the butter and squishing it in the palm of my hand...Success! Tasty and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
if there were more than 5 stars i would rate it higher. these were amazing! flaky, buttery, perfect. thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
It was my first time to bake croissants and I must admit, It was a little tough. People told me that making croissants was hard, but I managed to do this easily. Though I didn't get the "layers" of the croissant properly, and it wasn't flaky at all, but I'm thinking that's because of my beginner baking skills. Everybody loved the croissants I made! I'll definitely make it again. A few tweaks I did: I didn't freeze the dough twice, I was on a hurry I sliced my butter using a cheese slicer and patted the butter to the dough. The butter melted though, so at the end, I was smearing butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Antipolo City, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I Love This recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisafromTexas
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These are yummy and easy enough to make as long as you have the time. I agree with the other reviews that the dough is a bit sticky but I used a pastry mat and had no problems at all. (You've gotta get one if you do much baking at all) They came out flaky and tasty but they didn't taste as I expected. They tasted like normal dinner rolls to me. Maybe it was something that I did, but the experience at the end wasn't what I had been anticipating. I plan to try several other variations of croissant recipes before I settle on one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITEVYLET

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Great recipe!! Super time consuming, but absolutely delicious...flaky, golden, delicate...just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
The basic recipe is great. However, I think the oven temperature is too high. My first batch burned. I later found that other recipes said to bake at 425. I did that with my next batch and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Lizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States