Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was a good recipe. As a first timer, I didn't even expect them to turn out okay, but they were awesome. Needs almost 2 cups flour for the milk used. And it took me more than half an hour in a 250 D c oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These were awesome. It was our first time making Croissants so I watched a youtube video (which I recommend if you've never done this) just to see the rolling and butter part but followed this recipe and they were pretty much perfect. I think I will lower the temp next time but flavor and flakiness were great. I used european style butter and baked them on a silpat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenGC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I have made these croissants three times now, and they are amazing! My son, a grouchy teenager, goes absolutely nuts for these. Here are a few things I've learned/suggestions: As mentioned in other reviews, sometimes your may have to add more flour if the dough is too sticky/wet to knead. Add a little at a time until you get that nice, smooth, elastic dough. I bake them at 450 degrees instead of the recommended 475, but that's probably because my oven tends to be off by a few degrees on the warm side. I line the cookie sheet that I bake them on with parchment paper. This keeps the bottoms from burning and makes cleanup very easy. I only bake what we need and keep the unused dough in the plastic bag. The croissants are just as delicious two days later as they were when the dough was fresh. Since making these is an all-day affair, you can keep this in mind if you would like to make the dough on a day when you don't have much going on, and then bake them on another day. One more thing, my son loves these as pigs-in-a-blanket. I roll out the croissant, add a half slice cheese and half hotdog, roll up and bake as directed. Insanely good! Thanks so much for this awesome recipe. P.S. Had to edit this to give it five stars. I accidentally gave it one star, and this recipe deserves the full five plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These were good, and I know I can make them now. I don't think I ever need to do that again though. Lots of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Athenarose
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I use to make croissants in culinary school so I had a idea of how labor intense the recipe was before going into this. I also remember how many times you had to fold the dough and reroll (thankfully we hand a dough sheeter), in order to get those nice flaky layers. I followed this recipe word for word, only thing is I made the dough the day before I needed it and cut and rolled the day of. They came out great, tasted like croissants, they were a great size and so pretty. The next day (the day after I baked them) they tasted stale but I think this is a type of pastry that only taste best really fresh. I will make these again, going to try and make them twice as big to recreate a sandwich I get over here made on a fresh criossant, although the orginal recipes sizes are big enough for a good size sandwich. TY Kate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
The best! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Whatever you do, don't try letting the dough rise in what you *think* is a barely warm oven after you've added the butter. I tried this after the croissants were shaped, and ended up with unrisen dough in little pools of butter. On the plus side, they were delicious...even flat. I baked them even though they looked done for. And they appeared to suck up the melted butter during baking. The next batch was much better, but didn't rise a whole lot either. After the first batch, but it was fairly cool in my kitchen, and I was understandably a little gun-shy about trying to speed up the rise! Regardless, they were flaky, flavorful, and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I fudged this the first time with too much butter, I think. Honestly, the directions are a tiny bit confusing, but after reading the reviews and a helpful hint about chilling the butter and squishing it in the palm of my hand...Success! Tasty and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
if there were more than 5 stars i would rate it higher. these were amazing! flaky, buttery, perfect. thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
It was my first time to bake croissants and I must admit, It was a little tough. People told me that making croissants was hard, but I managed to do this easily. Though I didn't get the "layers" of the croissant properly, and it wasn't flaky at all, but I'm thinking that's because of my beginner baking skills. Everybody loved the croissants I made! I'll definitely make it again. A few tweaks I did: I didn't freeze the dough twice, I was on a hurry I sliced my butter using a cheese slicer and patted the butter to the dough. The butter melted though, so at the end, I was smearing butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Antipolo City, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States