Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Holy Holyness! These are Heavenly! I was up all night making them, but they were so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
it very good,his butter flavor it feel,excelent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stefanie Cadotte
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is a great starter recipe for croissant dough... that being said I did make a few minor adjustments; per other reviewers I reduced the salt to 1 tea, increased flour to 2 cups, and used 1/2 cup unsalted butter. I followed instructions closely except the temp, I reduced my oven to 425 for 18 min and they turned out slightly dark on bottoms... so maybe 400 for 20 min next time?? Oh and in half of the croissants I added dark dark chocolat and rolled up on the shorter seam. I did use a different method to work the butter, I placed a very cold stick in a 12" by 24" piece of parchment paper folded in half, and rolled out to about 6" by 12" until flat, and kept in the refrig until time to place in the middle of the dough, it worked great I simply pulled away parchment I and I had a perfectly thin and hard peice of butter. I also did not refrig for the 2 hours as recommended, I placed my dough in the freezer for about 20 min let cool for about 5 min then rolled and repeat. The flavor of these rivals a french bakery I used to buy croissants from... my pain au chocolat are already gone yummmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
These were perfect! They looked like they came from a bakery. I used bread flour and I substituted one of the 2 hour refrigerations with 30 minutes in the freezer and 30 minutes in the refrigerator. Keep an eye on them, as mine baked in 8 - 10 minutes. I should have put aluminum foil on the pan because the egg was very hard to clean off my non-stick air bake pan. Also, I melted some chocolate chips with a little milk and spread this on half of them, which were rolled out in rectangles, and they made wonderful chocolate croissants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I'm a decent bread maker so I thought I would try my hand at croissants! nI never knew they took so long to bake! After reading this recipe, I think it is better suited for those who have baked bread successfully in the past. Having said that, I think that there were no holes in the recipe, and mysants turned out well. I DID have to add almost a CUP more flour than the recipe called for, as the dough was just WAY too wet to do anything with. I think next time I'll experiment with another recipe, but this one was very decent. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was a very good recipe. I did do things a LITTLE bit different but they came out great! Change 1: Added 2 tsp yeast Change 2: Put the butter into a plastic bag and rolled it into a 6 inch square, then put it in the freezer. Change 3: Instead of chilling my dough in the fridge between "turns", I put it in the freezer to chill. Change 4: I sprayed croissants with water before baking them. So, my changes were not big or anything! Very easy recipe! I am not an amateur cook or baker but this is only my second time making croissants (The first time was in culinary school 11 years ago!). The final product was golden, buttery, and flaky though may need a tad more flavor, which is why I am giving 4 stars instead of 5. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WaterlessCooker
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Had no problems making these, have done them before with a different recipe. Think they needed to be baked a little more, as they collapsed! Taste was good, I got them nice & neat looking but they were difficult to cut or eat because they just weren't crisp enough on the outside. Tasted good, most of them looked good (ones on top of basket anyhow!!)...next time baking longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I started these late last night so they would be ready to bake for breakfast this morning. I didn't find anything too difficult about the recipe or directions. I misread the temperature and baked at 400 instead of 475 degrees so I think that's why they came out a little doughy in the middle. Other than that they were delicious and worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Before making these, I read most of the reviews and braced myself for the worst. I have made many types of breads from baguettes and sourdoughs to quick breads and muffins, but I never attempted to make croissants before since the instructions all seem a bit labor intensive. Work at your own pace. You don't have to sit waiting for the 20 minute or 2 hrs to pass. It's ok if you leave the dough chilling longer. As for comments on stickiness/dryness of dough, no recipe will produce perfect results everytime. You have to take into consideration how humid it is and what type of flour you use to get it just right. Ultimately you want to be able to knead the dough and form a dough ball. So if it is sticky, add more flour while you knead. If it is super dry, add a bit more milk or water. I made whole wheat croissants accidently (grabbed whole wheat flour instead of unbleached flour). I didn't notice until everything was mixed. So I doubled the recipe (only used 1 1/4 tsp yeast total) and regular flour for the other half. Even the tiniest bit of yeast will rise a large amount of dough, just give it more time if yours is not rising and check yeast expiration date. If the water is too hot, it will kill the yeast and not give a rise. To conquer the oozing butter, I sliced my butter with a knife. Nothing fancy. I laid butter on dough, no spreading or patting, and then folded and rolled. Touching the dough will melt the butter so work quickly and hands off. I didn't measure for cutting.YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Huang
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Perfect croissant, fresh from the oven is just beautiful, just like in a little French bakery. I made some au chocolat, that was hands down the best! Followed the 20min freeze/40min chill method, thinly sliced chilled butter with my knife, didn't smear, just pat it into the dough gently. Did it in 4-5 hours. Will roll out the rest of the dough tonight to rise slowly, and bake it first thing in the morning. Can just imagine the smell in the house early in the morning. Life is beautiful when you have a croissant with a hot latte, without even leaving the house! Thank you for sharing this beautiful recipe. I feel accomplished and fulfilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States