Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Although they didn't rise as much as I had hoped, the croissants had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
The first time I tried this recipe, I completely messed it up, but I decided to give it another try, and they turned out perfect, and tasted just like real French croissants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
it doesn't turn out like a croissant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
extremely bland...not worth the 8 hour preparation time it took... if I do make this again then I think I'll add way more butter for taste, I was really in the mood for croissants today, I hope another croissant recipe will be posted on here soon so that I can try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I made these for my class and they loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This is a great recipe! The rolls came out tender and buttery on the inside and crisp and flaky on the outside. I have made these twice now and my family and I love them. It is well woth the work you have to put into them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Original, but they were better than the fresh crossiants in France.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I was disappointed with the results of this recipe. The croissants turned out greasy and extremely salty. I know croissants are difficult to make, but I don't think this was due to my inexperience. However, I did make one change, and I think it's only fair to tell you about it - I used a chilled cheese slicer to slice the butter thinly, and I placed the thin slices on the rolled out dough, then mashed slightly with my fingers to soften the butter and make it malleable. I did this because I didn't think there would be any way for me to handle the butter according to the recipe without melting it. I have since read in other recipes that you are supposed to smash the butter with a rolling pin and roll it between two towels. Anyway, after all that work and anticipation, I will probably end up throwing these out. I just don't like the flavour at all. They taste like greasy French toast. They do have a nice crispy outside and a tender inside, though. If I were to make these again, I'd decrease the salt to 1 teaspoon, and I'd decrease the butter by 2-3 tablespoons. The croissants were actually frying in the butter while baking, and that was a bit gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Indeed, quite some work but mmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Almere, Flevoland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
There something very wrong with this recipe. I followed it to a T, but the dough remained a sticky batter and never firmed up enough to knead by hand. I feared adding extra flour (although another recipe I looked at required 1 lb.) because no other reviewers mentioned it needing more and I didn't want to screw it up, figuring croissants are more delicate than ordinary bread. A huge waste of time and ingredients for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States