Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I've only made these once, but I'll definitely try them again to see if I can get them perfected a bit more. I didn't have any trouble with the butter/rolling/folding/chilling process. That all went just fine. However, after shaping them (which I also need practice doing), I had trouble getting them to rise. If you put them somewhere warm to rise, the butter will melt and ooze out. When I discovered that happening with half of them, I put them in the oven directly. So, I'm not sure if I should put them back in the fridge to rise (and take forever doing so) or what. Anyway, they came out pretty well, crisp and flaky on the outside and soft in the inside. About half the bottoms got very toasty from the oozing butter mentioned earlier. As others have said, the recipe is good, but it will take some practice to get it right. *Update* On my second try, I made only 6 larger croissants and let them rise in a cool spot overnight and they puffed up beautifully. The butter didn't melt out of them while they were rising :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Be careful when selecting your flour. Higher protein flours (like bread flour)absorb more water. If you use something with less protein (bleached all-purpose, cake flour...) you'll need to add more flour to keep it from getting soupy. Use cold butter and work fast so it won't get greasy. You want a thin blanket of butter beneath each layer of dough to build the flaky layers. If your butter melts, it will incorporate with the dough and saturate it. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
After trying 4 different croissant recipes with no sucess, this one worked!! The croissants were light, flaky and tastes great. I used a little more flour as well used pastry four instead of all-purpose. It made them a little more lighter. I cheated too and made the dough in the bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was a really long process for 12 little croissants. The flavor is good but I wasn't able to get the rises out of the dough. The first rise took almost 4 hours so it actually took me 2 days to complete the recipe. The rises that took place in the fridge were minimal in size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I used salted butter and cut the salt in half. I also used an instant yeast that cut the time needed for rising. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I made these three days ago and am starting another batch today. I used my bread machine on the dough cycle but added 1/4 cup more flour as the dough was so soft it stayed on top of the paddle and was about to come out of the pan when mixing. The extra flour helped greatly. After the first rise I took the paddle out and let it rise again in the then turned off machine as it was nice and warm inside. My kitchen was very cold that day. I also didn't let the butter get soft enough, so just sliced it and put it on. This worked out great. Being a retired Grandma, I had all day to play with this. I made them quite small. I got 24 total. I made half one day and let the remainder wrapped in plastic for two days in the fridge. Baked the remainder yesterday and they were fabulous. Hubby loved them. WARNING. Do not bake these on a pizza pan with holes. Smoke from burned butter is not a good thing. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I cheated a bit and let my bread machine work up the dough, adding just a tablespoon more of flour to keep the dough from sticking to the sides when I realized it looked a bit sticky. The dough cycle seemed to work well and did the first "punch down" so that I could wrap and refrigerate it. I used salted butter and could have skipped some of the salt in the recipe, but I'm not restricted (yet)... I don't like bland! The butter was room temp so spread on easily. I didn't do a lot of kneading with the spread and fold process since I didn't want the warm butter to affect the dough, so quickly put it back in the fridge for the next stages of cooling and rolling. I also didn't get too preoccupied with the sizes of the rectangles... just rolled the dough to apx 1/4 inch each time and went on. Even the last step... 5x15", then 5x5"... rolling to apx. 10x10", then cutting in fourths to 5x5" is easier. But I had a whole day to play with this, had never made croissants before and got them made. The sizes are small so if you want big croissants you'd better cut them into 6 rolls instead of 12. I expected butter to ooze out of them during baking... it's what butter dough does, so be prepared with a pan with slight edges to it. I also overbaked mine at 15 min, making them darker and crusty on the outside, but ooooh the flavor and tenderness on the inside. Yum yesterday and YUM today with a bit of jelly for breakfast! If there are any left by noon the kids will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I tried to keep my expectations low for this recipe due to all the work involved, but I really hoped they would turn out at least somewhat like the ones I buy at Costco. I decreased salt to 1 tsp, and ended up chilling for about 8 hours (overnight and then again through the day) each time instead of 2. I also decreased the temperature to 450, but they still got a little dark on the bottom, probably due to the amount of butter. They turned out a lot smaller than I hoped, but they were flaky and the flavor was pretty good. For all the effort, though, the crescent rolls you can buy in a can are nearly as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Well, I made Croissants before for my French class my senior year in highschool. I am now a junior in College and felt the urge to make them again. I did and didn't follow this recipe. I was surprised as to how much flour to use..very little. The butter was accurate because Croissants are buttery. I remember heating one in the microwave andit turned into a glob of oil and dough. Nonetheless i took me five hours less by placing my dough in the freezer for a half an hour three times and also letting the dough rise one time instead of twice. I looked on lot of different websites to see not only the technique but the purpose of each ingredient. I semi-froze my butter and than just squeezed it in the palm of my hand it was perfect to place in each the dough. My croissants turned out great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
My croissants turned out beautifully. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, though--by the time I was ready to cook them, I'd added quite a lot of extra flour, just to make the dough manageable. I also reduced the salt by a bit . . . Took an enormous amount of time, yes, but they were worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States