Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
The best! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Whatever you do, don't try letting the dough rise in what you *think* is a barely warm oven after you've added the butter. I tried this after the croissants were shaped, and ended up with unrisen dough in little pools of butter. On the plus side, they were delicious...even flat. I baked them even though they looked done for. And they appeared to suck up the melted butter during baking. The next batch was much better, but didn't rise a whole lot either. After the first batch, but it was fairly cool in my kitchen, and I was understandably a little gun-shy about trying to speed up the rise! Regardless, they were flaky, flavorful, and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I fudged this the first time with too much butter, I think. Honestly, the directions are a tiny bit confusing, but after reading the reviews and a helpful hint about chilling the butter and squishing it in the palm of my hand...Success! Tasty and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
if there were more than 5 stars i would rate it higher. these were amazing! flaky, buttery, perfect. thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
It was my first time to bake croissants and I must admit, It was a little tough. People told me that making croissants was hard, but I managed to do this easily. Though I didn't get the "layers" of the croissant properly, and it wasn't flaky at all, but I'm thinking that's because of my beginner baking skills. Everybody loved the croissants I made! I'll definitely make it again. A few tweaks I did: I didn't freeze the dough twice, I was on a hurry I sliced my butter using a cheese slicer and patted the butter to the dough. The butter melted though, so at the end, I was smearing butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Antipolo City, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I Love This recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisafromTexas
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These are yummy and easy enough to make as long as you have the time. I agree with the other reviews that the dough is a bit sticky but I used a pastry mat and had no problems at all. (You've gotta get one if you do much baking at all) They came out flaky and tasty but they didn't taste as I expected. They tasted like normal dinner rolls to me. Maybe it was something that I did, but the experience at the end wasn't what I had been anticipating. I plan to try several other variations of croissant recipes before I settle on one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITEVYLET

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Great recipe!! Super time consuming, but absolutely delicious...flaky, golden, delicate...just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
The basic recipe is great. However, I think the oven temperature is too high. My first batch burned. I later found that other recipes said to bake at 425. I did that with my next batch and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Lizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Great recipe. Comes out flaky and makes your house smell great. I did the folding routine 2 extra times. Never let your butter get too soft/melted. It'll saturate the dough and come out gummy. I took my triangles and rolled them out a bit more into isoceles. I also pinched the ends together to make lil circles. Cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States