Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is the best croissant recipe! Flaky, buttery, goodness in every bite. The trick is keeping the dough COLD. If not you'll end up with a big, greasy, mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetroMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by diva7
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
These came out awesome! I too made the dough inmy bread machine and added about 1/4c extra flour for two batches. I used the cheese slicer method for the butter, but somehow it worked out that I didn't use all the butter, but they came out fine. Crispy outside and flaky inside! Wonderful!! Tip:: I found this one online, after forming the croissants I place a cup of boiled water in the middle of the pan and covered with a towel and bit of plastic wrap and let rise 45 min before baking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I converted this recipe to metric. I found that using the measures indicated in the recipe, 220 grs of flour with so much liquid gives you a dough that is pretty wet and unmanageable. I upped it to 350 grs flour and 7 grs of yeast and it worked a lot better. Other than that, a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Holy Holyness! These are Heavenly! I was up all night making them, but they were so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
it very good,his butter flavor it feel,excelent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stefanie Cadotte
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is a great starter recipe for croissant dough... that being said I did make a few minor adjustments; per other reviewers I reduced the salt to 1 tea, increased flour to 2 cups, and used 1/2 cup unsalted butter. I followed instructions closely except the temp, I reduced my oven to 425 for 18 min and they turned out slightly dark on bottoms... so maybe 400 for 20 min next time?? Oh and in half of the croissants I added dark dark chocolat and rolled up on the shorter seam. I did use a different method to work the butter, I placed a very cold stick in a 12" by 24" piece of parchment paper folded in half, and rolled out to about 6" by 12" until flat, and kept in the refrig until time to place in the middle of the dough, it worked great I simply pulled away parchment I and I had a perfectly thin and hard peice of butter. I also did not refrig for the 2 hours as recommended, I placed my dough in the freezer for about 20 min let cool for about 5 min then rolled and repeat. The flavor of these rivals a french bakery I used to buy croissants from... my pain au chocolat are already gone yummmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
These were perfect! They looked like they came from a bakery. I used bread flour and I substituted one of the 2 hour refrigerations with 30 minutes in the freezer and 30 minutes in the refrigerator. Keep an eye on them, as mine baked in 8 - 10 minutes. I should have put aluminum foil on the pan because the egg was very hard to clean off my non-stick air bake pan. Also, I melted some chocolate chips with a little milk and spread this on half of them, which were rolled out in rectangles, and they made wonderful chocolate croissants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I'm a decent bread maker so I thought I would try my hand at croissants! nI never knew they took so long to bake! After reading this recipe, I think it is better suited for those who have baked bread successfully in the past. Having said that, I think that there were no holes in the recipe, and mysants turned out well. I DID have to add almost a CUP more flour than the recipe called for, as the dough was just WAY too wet to do anything with. I think next time I'll experiment with another recipe, but this one was very decent. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was a very good recipe. I did do things a LITTLE bit different but they came out great! Change 1: Added 2 tsp yeast Change 2: Put the butter into a plastic bag and rolled it into a 6 inch square, then put it in the freezer. Change 3: Instead of chilling my dough in the fridge between "turns", I put it in the freezer to chill. Change 4: I sprayed croissants with water before baking them. So, my changes were not big or anything! Very easy recipe! I am not an amateur cook or baker but this is only my second time making croissants (The first time was in culinary school 11 years ago!). The final product was golden, buttery, and flaky though may need a tad more flavor, which is why I am giving 4 stars instead of 5. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan Walker
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Had no problems making these, have done them before with a different recipe. Think they needed to be baked a little more, as they collapsed! Taste was good, I got them nice & neat looking but they were difficult to cut or eat because they just weren't crisp enough on the outside. Tasted good, most of them looked good (ones on top of basket anyhow!!)...next time baking longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States