Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Made this as a treat for the family and I did cheat by using my bread machine, but it came out perfect. I did allow the dough to rise a second time after cutting out the doughnuts and it made them very fluffy and airy. The butter glaze was used as a dipping sauce cause it was so yummy! Also I lowered the serving amount to 10 and still ended up with over 20 doughnuts(not including holes). My cutter is 2 3/4 inch sized cutter. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheIndigoButterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
These really do taste like Kristy Kreme!!! The key is not to overcook them. This keeps them soft and moist. I also cooked them at 325 instead of 350. I followed the recipe exactly (with the addition of a generous amount of vanilla). The dough seems soft at first, but as you need it it firms up. These really were the best doughnuts I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Not bad, easy enough to make especially if you have a bread mixer to mix and knead at the same time. And simple enough to fry. Family loved/liked I just liked them simply because I love to create and perfect things. My first try at doughnuts and it won't be my last. Good Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I just finished making these doughnuts a little bit ago. They're really delicious. Like others, I had to add more flour. I was kind of cautious about adding the flour though b/c I didn't know how they would turn out. I added about a cup extra and I could've definitely added more. The dough was still VERY sticky. 5/6 cups just doesn't seem like enough if you're really trying to achieve a dough that's not sticky. I let it raise for about an hour and it was huge! The dough raises well and the doughnuts taste great. Everyone in my family loved them and I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cadiz, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hafsakhan
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
i tired this recipe on my sister's birthday and it came out absolutely beautiful.everyone said it taste like one available at dunkin donuts.i was overwhelm by the outcome...and yea my sister loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farwa
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Delicious! Thank you for this wonderful recipe Kelly. I followed it exactly as directed, except i substituted butter for shortening. Also, I used a glass and a orange juice can lid to cut the doughnuts out since i don't have a doughnut cutter. I split the recipe in half, and still got 20 good sized doughnuts after it. Yummy and easy, this recipe was worth the time and effort it took to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I worked in a bakery and did the donuts for 15 years. I agree with Brooke who wrote that the glaze only needs 10x sugar, vanilla and a little milk. You can also try this which is close to how I did it in the bakery using a proffessionl rack. Put your donuts on the rack with a baking pan underneath. While the donuts are still hot pour the warm glaze over them staight from the pot. If you want you can flip the entire pan over at this point using another baking pan the same size as a top and glaze the other side and they will be more like Krispy Kream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was not too difficult of a recipe, but there was a problem with the dough being too sticky. I had to add another cup of flour to make it workable, though the dough was still a bit sticky afterwards, however, at the same time I didn't want to add too much flour either. The other problem was how flavor-less these doughnuts were. Yes, they were light and fluffy but had NO taste/flavor whatsoever. I had to add cinnamon to my glaze because the doughnuts tasted like nothing. It took me about 3 1/2 hours from start to finish (I only fried about 8 doughnuts to test it out). After that I stopped because the doughnuts didn't taste like anything. Maybe if this recipe called for nutmeg or something, it would probably end up tasting a little better. But time to keep searching for another doughnut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made this for some friends tonight. Without knowing the title, they said that they tasted just like Krispy Kreme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Made these doughnuts today, they were good but not quit Krispy Kreme quality. The dough had a good light texture but something was lacking in the flavor of the dough. It tasted to much like plain bread :(( Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 930) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States