Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I am not sure why anyone would give these one star. When I made these with the kids my wife thought I bought the doughnuts. The best part is these doughnuts freeze well so you don't have to eat them all at once:-) I don't have a doughnut cutter so I used a pint glass and to make the holes I used a plastic pop bottle. Just squeeze the bottle and the holes come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Very easy recipe to follow. Turned out awesome and even my kids sat down and wanted more. I prepared myself and took out all my ingredients a head of time so that i could have everything right at hand. It took me 3 hours to make but was well worth the time and effort to make them. This is definately a recipe to make again and again!! Also a recipe to pass down to my kids when they get older and get out on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made both a full recipe, and one scaled down by half, and followed the recipe carefully for everything including frying. The recipe worked just as well scaled down as it did when making the full amount. The results were wonderful, the donuts were lightly crispy tender and golden on the outside and tender and fluffy on the inside. We didn't like the glaze, but I do have other glaze recipes that I like better. Cinnamon sugar, or honey coating was nice on these donuts to. The donuts are slightly sweet without any glaze or sugar coatings and I actually like them best without anything on them at all. I've made the donut dough ahead of time and shaped and frozen the raw donuts so we could have hot fresh morning donuts in less time. Once they're frozen all thats left to do is remove them from the freezer, then thaw and allow them to rise before frying. Removing soft, raw Donuts from the rising tray can be tricky, so I lined the tray with lightly greased waxed paper and cut it after the donuts finished rising, so that each donut had its own waxed paper square to make it easier to turn the donuts into my hand or into the hot oil, avoiding the danger of donuts sticking to the tray and being deflated or misshapen during removal. I covered the dough with plastic wrap rather than cloth during the final rising. My biggest problem with this recipe is that the donuts start to vanish from the cooling rack before I can finish frying and glazing them all. Thanks for sharing this one Kelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Made this as a treat for the family and I did cheat by using my bread machine, but it came out perfect. I did allow the dough to rise a second time after cutting out the doughnuts and it made them very fluffy and airy. The butter glaze was used as a dipping sauce cause it was so yummy! Also I lowered the serving amount to 10 and still ended up with over 20 doughnuts(not including holes). My cutter is 2 3/4 inch sized cutter. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheIndigoButterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
These really do taste like Kristy Kreme!!! The key is not to overcook them. This keeps them soft and moist. I also cooked them at 325 instead of 350. I followed the recipe exactly (with the addition of a generous amount of vanilla). The dough seems soft at first, but as you need it it firms up. These really were the best doughnuts I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Not bad, easy enough to make especially if you have a bread mixer to mix and knead at the same time. And simple enough to fry. Family loved/liked I just liked them simply because I love to create and perfect things. My first try at doughnuts and it won't be my last. Good Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I just finished making these doughnuts a little bit ago. They're really delicious. Like others, I had to add more flour. I was kind of cautious about adding the flour though b/c I didn't know how they would turn out. I added about a cup extra and I could've definitely added more. The dough was still VERY sticky. 5/6 cups just doesn't seem like enough if you're really trying to achieve a dough that's not sticky. I let it raise for about an hour and it was huge! The dough raises well and the doughnuts taste great. Everyone in my family loved them and I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cadiz, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hafsakhan
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
i tired this recipe on my sister's birthday and it came out absolutely beautiful.everyone said it taste like one available at dunkin donuts.i was overwhelm by the outcome...and yea my sister loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farwa
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Delicious! Thank you for this wonderful recipe Kelly. I followed it exactly as directed, except i substituted butter for shortening. Also, I used a glass and a orange juice can lid to cut the doughnuts out since i don't have a doughnut cutter. I split the recipe in half, and still got 20 good sized doughnuts after it. Yummy and easy, this recipe was worth the time and effort it took to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I worked in a bakery and did the donuts for 15 years. I agree with Brooke who wrote that the glaze only needs 10x sugar, vanilla and a little milk. You can also try this which is close to how I did it in the bakery using a proffessionl rack. Put your donuts on the rack with a baking pan underneath. While the donuts are still hot pour the warm glaze over them staight from the pot. If you want you can flip the entire pan over at this point using another baking pan the same size as a top and glaze the other side and they will be more like Krispy Kream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 933) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States