Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
For the glaze you can add 1/4 cup cocoa for chocolate glaze, or 1 tsp. maple flavoring for maple glaze donuts. Love this recipe it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mischiefmind
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Turned out to be very soft and fluffy. I did not glaze them but dusted them with sugar and cinnamon. I also tried doing the Oreo topping by first applying the the Oreo cream and then a layer of the crushed biscuit. The small middle portion turned out to be excellent little balls once again dusted with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mischiefmind

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I came home from work wanting to make doughnuts, found this one, made it, and tadaa...my friend and I are enjoying the profits. I found the recipe very easy to follow. As I didn't have a doughnut cutter, I used a biscuit cutter and a pop bottle cap :-) Where there's a will, there's a way! I will definitely be making these for our guests coming in a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunbar, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I loved the recipe!! I just finished a few and they are sooo light and airy. Thank you allrecipes, I will be coming back soon for more favorites! The best advice I can give is to FOLLOW THE RECIPE, you will not go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker77

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janide
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Delicious, everyone loved them. Lots of fun to make. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheri
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I loved this recipe for donuts. I made them with my grandchidren. We made a caramel glaze icing and it made a nice variation. We also used fast acting yeast. YUMMY ... I recommend them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I have now made 4 batches of these and they are fail proof! They taste amazing and are the biggest hit! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I am not sure why anyone would give these one star. When I made these with the kids my wife thought I bought the doughnuts. The best part is these doughnuts freeze well so you don't have to eat them all at once:-) I don't have a doughnut cutter so I used a pint glass and to make the holes I used a plastic pop bottle. Just squeeze the bottle and the holes come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Very easy recipe to follow. Turned out awesome and even my kids sat down and wanted more. I prepared myself and took out all my ingredients a head of time so that i could have everything right at hand. It took me 3 hours to make but was well worth the time and effort to make them. This is definately a recipe to make again and again!! Also a recipe to pass down to my kids when they get older and get out on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made both a full recipe, and one scaled down by half, and followed the recipe carefully for everything including frying. The recipe worked just as well scaled down as it did when making the full amount. The results were wonderful, the donuts were lightly crispy tender and golden on the outside and tender and fluffy on the inside. We didn't like the glaze, but I do have other glaze recipes that I like better. Cinnamon sugar, or honey coating was nice on these donuts to. The donuts are slightly sweet without any glaze or sugar coatings and I actually like them best without anything on them at all. I've made the donut dough ahead of time and shaped and frozen the raw donuts so we could have hot fresh morning donuts in less time. Once they're frozen all thats left to do is remove them from the freezer, then thaw and allow them to rise before frying. Removing soft, raw Donuts from the rising tray can be tricky, so I lined the tray with lightly greased waxed paper and cut it after the donuts finished rising, so that each donut had its own waxed paper square to make it easier to turn the donuts into my hand or into the hot oil, avoiding the danger of donuts sticking to the tray and being deflated or misshapen during removal. I covered the dough with plastic wrap rather than cloth during the final rising. My biggest problem with this recipe is that the donuts start to vanish from the cooling rack before I can finish frying and glazing them all. Thanks for sharing this one Kelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 930) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States