Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
These were just amazing. Delicious. My husband said, "Every time I think you've reached a new dessert high, you go and surprise me and make something even better." :) I made a half batch and had to add one extra cup of flour to the dough to give it the correct consistency but otherwise followed all instructions as written. Takes some time, but definitely worth it. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I couldn't wait to try this recipe ever since I came across it and it's very good! I changed things a bit though such as I added the sugar, shortening and salt to the milk as I heated it so that these ingredients would be completely dissolved . As well, just for my own taste I added a teaspoon and a half of vanilla extract to the , now, lukewarm milk mixture. It's true what other reviewers say DON'T add too much extra flour the dough once you knead it does have to be smooth and elastic but still quite soft and pliable.This dough rises beautifully and once put in the hot lard ( another change I made as the donuts are not as greasy then ) they do brown QUICKLY . This is a very easy recipe and the end result are lovely fluffy donuts , mind you mine aren't really crispy as I didn't want them to get dark brown , with a great texture ! I really love this recipe and I can't stress enough that ( at least for me ) I found this to be a fairly easy recipe . Definitely a wonderful recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by goldiehateslox
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Are so good! I use bread flour instead of all-purpose and oil instead of the shortening. I used a cup to cut them out and filled them with Carmel or jelly and sprinkled with powdered sugar when they were done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! No more Beans and Brews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I have never made doughnuts before and these turned out amazing! Neither my husband or I have ever had a better doughnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Önay Burak Dogan
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very good recipe. Donuts were really delicious and they didnt soak so much oil up. Only thing, it took a cup more flour to get the right texture. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Önay Burak Dogan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I finally found the right one, they are very good and do not absorb oil. I'm happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrizia Mignosa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
these doughnuts were fantastic they weren't too sweet or they weren't doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
First time making doughnuts and these were awesome! I don't think my boys will every want store bought donuts again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Absolutely delicious. Substituted the shortening for butter. Crispy on the outside, tender inside. Just sprinkled a little icing sugar on top as I don't like it too sweet. Perfect doughnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States