Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
These are the best donuts I've had in my entire life, with no exceptions. Admittedly, I don't have donuts often, but I have had a few from some very notable chains, and they weren't nearly as good as these. They are time-consuming, but not hard, and worth every minute. (My KitchenAid mixer made the kneading effortless.) I won't ever need another glazed donut recipe. Mine made nearly four dozen, instead of 18, so I may have rolled mine out a bit thin. They looked perfectly normal after frying, though, so I'm not sure what to attribute it to. (I'm not complaining!) Accordingly, I had to make two batches of the glaze to frost all of my donuts. I also had to add about another 1/4 cup of flour to keep the dough from sticking to the bowl, but I know from my bread-baking experience that weather sometimes affects the amount of flour needed from one time to the next, at least where I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Rocks, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adrienne
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I'll break this review down to where I had trouble. 1) The Yeast: The recipe calls for 2 envelopes of yeast while the video only calls for 1. Well I used 2 and the donuts rose beautifully! I used 2 envelopes from Fleischmann's. When it came to activating the yeast, I simply boiled some water, let it reduce down to between 105-115 then poured it into the bowl of my Kitchenaid Stand Mixer with a dough hook. I then poured the yeast (both packets) on top of the water. The directions say to let the yeast "rise until foamy" but to be honest, you need to stir the yeast. So, I got some more warm water, poured it down the sides while mixing the yeast. I let it sit for about 5-10 minutes and it foamed quite well. 2) Cutting the dough: I can't stress this enough and I suggest paying close attention to this part. Before you are ready to cut the donuts, take a baking sheet (or whatever you plan on putting the cut pieces on) and line it with wax paper. Then, heavily spray the wax paper with non-stick spray! HEAVILY! I didn't heavily spray and the donuts stuck just a bit. Spray the sucker down like there's no tomorrow! 3) Rising: Allow them to rise UNTIL THEY ARE THE SIZE YOU WANT THEM TO BE! I let my first batch rise for about an hour and began frying. The frying took about 30 minutes, then I took out my second batch. To my surprise, my second batch was 4 times larger than the first! 4) Frying: I constantly turned the dough when frying so they won't get overcooked on 1 side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
The donut itself was good but the glaze was not good. I threw away the glaze and made a simple glaze with powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla EDIT: I made this again and it came out perfect. Even the glaze. For the glaze to come out right u MUST do it on the stove. I tried it in the microwave the first time and came out gritty. Tried it on the stove and it came out perfect. This is the only doughnut recipe I will ever use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by charlie.boo
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Excelent recipe!!! Fluffy dough and creamy glaze... just loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I tried this recipe and everybody simply loved the doughnuts! They were SO soft!! Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Not light and fluffy enough. I don't think I made a mistake because mine looked like a lot of the photos that I see with this recipe. The doughnuts were nowhere near as good as any store-bought doughnut that I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
It was delicious! Beyond our wildest dreams! Our first time making donuts and not likely to be our last. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These are amazing! They taste like fried dough you get at the fair, light and crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennebunkport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is awesome. My kids say that these are better than the best store bought doughnuts. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikimom8

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This recipe is amazing! The donuts are crispy and the glaze is buttery and brings out the flavor. The only thing I changed is I fried it with home renedered lard and expeller pressed coconut oil and the flavor came out great, you can't even taste the coconut. I found out that you have to be VERY careful not to overwork the dough because it will make the donut lose its crispy-ness. Also about the glaze you do not need a lot of confectioners sugar. I also tried adding a Tablespoon of maple flavoring to make it taste more like a maple bar. Awesome recipe somebody even told me it was better then Krispy creme! I would give this 6 stars if I could! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 912) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States