Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I've made this recipe dozens of times. It works if you know how to manage yeast breads. I use SAF instant yeast and let them rise nice and high on greased parchment and they transfer wonderfully. Control the temp of your oil carefully as well or you'll get mediocre results. These are incredibly simple to make if you're familiar with doughnuts. I like to glaze the doughnuts on both sides and hang them on a chopstick to drip dry. This is as close as you'll get to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly but they didn't turn out as good as I was expecting. The texture unusual - it looks like it's been cooked all the way through but it doesn't taste that way. Very doughy, and I'm certain that if is cooked them any longer then they would be burnt. Also? The donuts themselves don't have any flavor-it all comes from the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
It makes more than it says, and tastes great! Did a double batch and with a 3" cutter I got 97 plus 80 bits. They make great bizmarks too (jam filled). Stove was on about 5 and a line....to get close to 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Wow! Light as a feather. I used salted butter and a drop or two of lemon extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I followed this recipe step by step, with no changes, and the donuts turned out fantastic!! This recipe is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMARRACCINI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
cant make enough of these..i wonder ..Can these be frozen?? That way i could make enough To my family..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michlkidd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
not quite the same as KK but man are they tasty! Followed the directions pretty much to a t. My husband and boys ate them as fast as I could fry them. Did some variation on the icing but only by adding some chocolate and the donut holes I shook in a bag of sugar/cinnamon while they were still warm. Yum! Thank you for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandygirl238

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
My picky husband LOVED them! Easy to make and they turn out great every time.. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These were amazing! A bit of work, but SO GOOD! The dough rolls out beautifully. I mixed the trim bits up with some dice spiced apple bits and cooked them up as fritters. Also super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Followed it exactly and ended up with a delicious donut. huge hit in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 930) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States