Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Amazing! I made a VEGAN version and they turned out lovely! Instead of egg I used milled flaxseed (very finely milled - I milled using my own spice grinder, 1tbsn flaxseed + 2 tbsn warm water for each egg, let it sit and get gooey before adding), and I used coconut milk (Coconut Dream, unsweetened) instead of the regular milk. My dough only held 4c of flour instead of 5c, perhaps because of the substitutions that I made...but it was a lovely dough that rose nicely when I first kneaded it (by hand), and rose again nicely after I had cut-out the doughnuts. I personally didn't find the dough difficult to handle, due to the shortening in it I did not need extra flour. Might also be due to the fact that I'm used to handling/kneading dough. Doughnuts turned out light & fluffy, fried super fast, and no lumps/uncooked centres. Absolutely beautiful! Nobody would EVER know they are vegan. I have a child with food allergies so this is important to me. I tried the glaze using vegan margarine, was a bit salty so will try Crisco or just icing sugar + water next time. Also added some Enjoy Life choc chips to half of the glaze to make a chocolate glaze, which was good enough to eat out of the pan (salt balanced the chocolate beautifully).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shabna Nadeer
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
this recipe is really amazing I tried it fo few times... nice taste, soft n...... superb... yummy :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I Abella BABINAUX a french women, who really knows her pastries. At first I thought this recipe had great potential but after 5 hours of cooking and throwing up in the toilete after eating them. I realized my gut felling was right it tasted like actual would taste better. iF YOU RELLY WANT TO TRY THIS SIT BY THE TOILETTE FOR 5 HOURS THAN EAT YOUR .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dominika S.
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
They are very delicious!! There were some troubles with the preparation but they are still awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
We love this recipe! It does make lots of doughnuts, so be sure to invite friends over to help you eat them up. They are best fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paramus, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haochi
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Amazing dough. Stuck right to the recipe as written and had no problem making this into donut holes and sticks. Used it in my Phillips air fryer and it turned out perfect. Instead of adding a glaze to the outside I rolled the donut holes in powdered sugar and then air fried them up. Wonderful dough! Definitely a 5/5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Best donuts I've ever made! They don't last though, only good while they're warm, so I ended up throwing some away. Next time I'll adjust the ingredients to make less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
These were just amazing. Delicious. My husband said, "Every time I think you've reached a new dessert high, you go and surprise me and make something even better." :) I made a half batch and had to add one extra cup of flour to the dough to give it the correct consistency but otherwise followed all instructions as written. Takes some time, but definitely worth it. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I couldn't wait to try this recipe ever since I came across it and it's very good! I changed things a bit though such as I added the sugar, shortening and salt to the milk as I heated it so that these ingredients would be completely dissolved . As well, just for my own taste I added a teaspoon and a half of vanilla extract to the , now, lukewarm milk mixture. It's true what other reviewers say DON'T add too much extra flour the dough once you knead it does have to be smooth and elastic but still quite soft and pliable.This dough rises beautifully and once put in the hot lard ( another change I made as the donuts are not as greasy then ) they do brown QUICKLY . This is a very easy recipe and the end result are lovely fluffy donuts , mind you mine aren't really crispy as I didn't want them to get dark brown , with a great texture ! I really love this recipe and I can't stress enough that ( at least for me ) I found this to be a fairly easy recipe . Definitely a wonderful recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 953) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States