Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This recipe is amazing! The donuts are crispy and the glaze is buttery and brings out the flavor. The only thing I changed is I fried it with home renedered lard and expeller pressed coconut oil and the flavor came out great, you can't even taste the coconut. I found out that you have to be VERY careful not to overwork the dough because it will make the donut lose its crispy-ness. Also about the glaze you do not need a lot of confectioners sugar. I also tried adding a Tablespoon of maple flavoring to make it taste more like a maple bar. Awesome recipe somebody even told me it was better then Krispy creme! I would give this 6 stars if I could! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
The recipe came out very chewy. Not in a good way either. I followed it exactly too, except I had to add almost 2 more cups of flour to get a workable dough. Instead of the 18 it says it makes, it made 30 doughnuts and 13 doughnut holes. Had fun making them with the kids... but won't use this recipe again. I went to baking school so I know how to make doughnuts, wanted to new recipes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I've made this recipe dozens of times. It works if you know how to manage yeast breads. I use SAF instant yeast and let them rise nice and high on greased parchment and they transfer wonderfully. Control the temp of your oil carefully as well or you'll get mediocre results. These are incredibly simple to make if you're familiar with doughnuts. I like to glaze the doughnuts on both sides and hang them on a chopstick to drip dry. This is as close as you'll get to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly but they didn't turn out as good as I was expecting. The texture unusual - it looks like it's been cooked all the way through but it doesn't taste that way. Very doughy, and I'm certain that if is cooked them any longer then they would be burnt. Also? The donuts themselves don't have any flavor-it all comes from the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
It makes more than it says, and tastes great! Did a double batch and with a 3" cutter I got 97 plus 80 bits. They make great bizmarks too (jam filled). Stove was on about 5 and a line....to get close to 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Wow! Light as a feather. I used salted butter and a drop or two of lemon extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I followed this recipe step by step, with no changes, and the donuts turned out fantastic!! This recipe is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMARRACCINI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
cant make enough of these..i wonder ..Can these be frozen?? That way i could make enough To my family..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michlkidd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
not quite the same as KK but man are they tasty! Followed the directions pretty much to a t. My husband and boys ate them as fast as I could fry them. Did some variation on the icing but only by adding some chocolate and the donut holes I shook in a bag of sugar/cinnamon while they were still warm. Yum! Thank you for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandygirl238

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 913) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States