Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
We have experimented with several donut recipes, as well as a couple pre made dough recipes to deliver hot donuts to our members and friends...this recipe delivers superior quality results every time. It seems everyone in our kitchen is able to follow the recipe without any hiccups as well. Be sure to not eat too many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Definitely worth making! Very good! This is the first donut from scratch recipe I've tried and I plan to stick with it! So good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
My husband and I made these last night. After we had no hiccups or complications with the dough, we finally fried them up. They came out good. Our children LOVED these. My husband and I however thought they had just a tad bit to much of a bread aftertaste. Not sweet enough for us. This however was an excellent recipe to get us started. With a few adjustments I'm sure we will have a recipe we adore. Side note, it seemed that the longer they sat out while cooling after being glazed, the better we liked them. Again, a good, solid recipe to adjust to your liking, and as always, my husband and I make the recipes as stated on the first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
They came out really good. Best doughnuts I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
DOUGH WAS SUPER STICKY AND COULDNT KNEAD. HAD TO PUT MORE FLOUR AND IT DIDNT TASTE LIKE DONUTS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
The best doughnut recipe ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
These doughnuts were fantastic! (almost too good, HAD to send home with family members before we ate them all!) I used my bread machine, and that made it so easy. I mixed the yeast and water, and warmed the milk to lukewarm with the shortening before adding to the bread machine. I then added the eggs (room temperature), sugar, salt and flour. I hit the dough setting, worked the flour in with a spatula and then let the machine finish doing the work! My daughter-in-law said I must open a bakery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I love this recipe but it's usually too many doughnuts for my family to eat as they need to be eaten as soon as possible once they are cooked because they are fried and raised so they are not nearly as good the next day.I usually halve the recipe,warm my milk in a small sauce pan with the shortening in as well just until the shortening begins to melt then I turn off the stove and mix the yeast with some warm h2o (110*-115*) a tsp. or so of white sugar in a small mixing glass until it is foamy.I put the rest of the sugar and the salt into my 1970 something Sunbeam stand mixer bowl and whisk them together.I then add the milk and shortening(around 110*) and yeast mixture to the bowl and mix them together,then some flour and follow the rest of the recipe instructions.This recipe was my first successful attempt at raised doughnuts and it never lets me down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
These are the best donuts I've had in my entire life, with no exceptions. Admittedly, I don't have donuts often, but I have had a few from some very notable chains, and they weren't nearly as good as these. They are time-consuming, but not hard, and worth every minute. (My KitchenAid mixer made the kneading effortless.) I won't ever need another glazed donut recipe. Mine made nearly four dozen, instead of 18, so I may have rolled mine out a bit thin. They looked perfectly normal after frying, though, so I'm not sure what to attribute it to. (I'm not complaining!) Accordingly, I had to make two batches of the glaze to frost all of my donuts. I also had to add about another 1/4 cup of flour to keep the dough from sticking to the bowl, but I know from my bread-baking experience that weather sometimes affects the amount of flour needed from one time to the next, at least where I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Rocks, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 931) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States