Crispy Walnut Maple Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Thanks Jane for your comment. I am glad I wasn't going crazy, as I kept re-reading the recipe to make sure I didn't get it wrong. The milk measurement must be a typo! More milk is a must. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I used my own homemade waffle mix. I had read through the reviews before I made this recipe, so I knew to add more milk than what the recipe called for. For me, this needed almost 3/4 of a cup more milk and honestly, I think this could have used more. The flavor of these was great but the texture was off because of the overmixing and the need for more liquid. I'll try these again (because I think this could be an excellent waffle recipe) but I would use 1 1/2-2 cups of milk next time and cut out the water completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
You need to use 2 cups of milk! If you do, you won't be disappointed! We love these waffles, they are crispy, they freeze up well and best of all they are eggless. We also just use 3 full cups of pancake mix instead of using whole wheat flour. This is our go to waffle recipes, only gave it 4 stars because of the milk typo in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Morales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I used less pancake mix and more WW flour. The flavor of this was mild. I was hoping for more maple walnut goodiness. But the kids did not care they ate them all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These have great flavor, i did have to add another cup of milk, i used almond milk. Mine were crumbly. I didnt let them get crispy in the waffle iron, mabye that would have made a difference. The next time i make these I will put an egg in it, very good though~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redwood Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This is the best waffle we've ever eaten, except 2 Tablespoons of milk doesn't work. 2 CUPS of milk works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Excellent taste and texture. I added crumbled crisp bacon to the top of the batter before I flipped the waffle iron. My waffle connoisseur boys (hubby and son)loved them as a change of pace from my usual souped-up box mix. I gave only 4 stars because of the batter consistency with the original recipe. I added an additional cup of milk and could have probably added another 1/2 to 1 cup but didn't want to overshoot and make too runny the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mic
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Add more milk to the recipe but these are FANTASTIC. We ate them with bananas and whip cream! Will definately make again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Scalise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maybull
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
excellent flavor and crispy texture. I tried it using my new waffle maker and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I like this recipes because it doesn't have eggs. I used rice milk instead of cow's. I had to add MUCH more water & milk to create a "pourable" batter. The waffles were a fairly crunchy coming out of the waffle baker. Flavor was a little bland but acceptable for an egg-less recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States