Crispy Vegetable Pakoras Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by LOVE2eat
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
i cant really review the recipe, i just wanted to see how similiar it was to my own my family and i eat pakoras all the time esp during the month of ramadan and this is a good basic recipe...u can use any veggie but spinach and cauliflower are my favorites. also zucchini and potatoes grated work well( drain the moisture though). i cut up the veggies pretty small, and some onions green chiles, and cilantro mix it up and add the chickpea flour ....i dont measure. then i add water until it forms a batter that is consistent enough to drop into hot oil in spoonfuls. then i add garam masala and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
These were quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was splendid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This good. I have several pakora recipes from different books but this has been the best thus far. I added diced potatoes to the mix and chopped the cauliflower and onions to smaller pieces. Mixed everything up and dropped by spoonfuls into the hot oil. Great pakora recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
These were good. Not sure if it was just the particular brand of chickpea flour I used, but it seemed coarser than what I have had at restaurants. As many others have stated, very adaptable. I subbed potato for cauliflower. Salt the batter to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great recipe! I made chickpea flour using my vitamix (Sifted it to make sure it was smooth). I only had coriander seeds so I had to grind that up in blender too. I like to follow the recipes exact whenever possible but I couldn't go out so I made do. I used curry powder instead of straight turmeric and I didn't have any garam masala. I used frozen cauliflower, carrots, and broccoli. I fried them in peanut oil. They were delicious. My husband did say they were missing a little something, but I am guessing that is the fault of leaving out the masala so I still gave the recipe 5*s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Surprisingly good, wasn't expecting to get Indian dish from Allrecipes website. But, this is pretty close to real pakora. I used mostly thinly sliced potatoes and Onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeel Syed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
very yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Wow...I never had pakoras before, even in a restaurant. This recipe was suggested to me through the recipe exchange when I was looking for Indian recipes for a dinner party I was planning. These were so good, I served them with Tomato Chutney (recipe on allrecipes too). I used half of a cauliflower, one onion, half a green pepper, and one small zucchini. I had to double the batter and followed the recipe exactly, although the flower I used was Faina flower (chick pea and flour blend). I cooked them in about 1 inch of veg oil like others suggested (and they stayed together) in large wok until golden. I ended up cooking them a few hours before I served them and they did get a bit soggy, so they are best cooked and served right away. I even tried crisping them up a bit in the oven but couldn´t get them back to their formal glory. Regardless they were a hit and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I had to adjust the spices for my taste, I needed much more. I chopped carrot, cooked spinach, cauliflower, peas & corn and onion. I found an Indian Pakora dipping sauce at the grocery store and it all came together fantastically. They got raves at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States