Crispy Vegetable Pakoras Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I loved them! I also used very thinly sliced potato, they were very good as well. Thank you very much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Graver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
People tell me these taste just like the pakoras at our favorite Indian restaurant. Sometimes I dip the vegetables in egg before battering and frying to keep the batter from falling off in the pan. I've used a lot of different vegetables, fresh, canned, and frozen. Battering and frying these can take a long time and make a big mess, but with practice, I don't have that problem anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
These are very good, and my husband said they tasted alot like what he had in India. I look forward to trying this with other veggies. Any suggestions how I can use the chickpea flour other than in this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Good. I did add an egg to the batter and felt that was a better coating consistency. I also used garlic powder instead and paprika instead of red chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I have always loved Pakora's. They are my favorite indian appetizer and these were fabulous. I have never made these before and now I may never order them at a restaurant again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Wow! just like the restaurant! I was specifically looking for a pakora recipe, not expecing to find one and it's great. So crispy and spicy, just like the restaurant's. ALl I need now is to find a recipe for that green yogurt suace they give you and i'll be in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I couldn't cook these things fast enough. Everybody was eating them as soon as they were done. I had to make another batch, to satisfy my hungry horde...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Warren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
i just made this for lunch, and it was excellent. i scaled this recipe to 1 serving, because all i had was a little bit of cauliflower left. i didn't have coriander, turmeric or any of the other spices, so i just substituted an equal amt of curry powder instead. anyway, i was a bit skeptical because i'm not a huge fan of cauliflower, but this was GREAT..i couldn't eat it fast enough, it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetneet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Good stuff! I'll add a bit more of the spices next time and try other veggies as well. I used a bit of garlic powder instead of cloves, as previously suggested. I was concerned about the consistency of the "batter", so I added more water (1/2 cup?) to make it more batter-y and it worked great. Now that I see the suggestion that pakoras are supposed to be little clumps of veggies instead of individual fritter-type things, I see where the thicker batter makes sense. I think I'll still do it my way though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Love this recipe... I'm a midwesterner who married an Indian, so I'm always looking for recipes that make him call me his "Indian wife"-- this is one! For our tastes, I double all the spices in the batter-- make the trip to the indian market, it's worth it. I use whatever veg I have on hand (try carrots, spinach, broccoli, mushrooms), dice them small, and add the whole lot to the batter and stir. Then drop by tablespoons into the hot oil. Don't worry, they will form together into patties when they cook (or if they fall apart a little, they're so tasty no one will mind!), cook until they seem just a little overdone to make them good and crispy. They're not bad the second day, if they last, just a bit soggy. Reheat in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States