Crispy Vegetable Pakoras Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Love this recipe... I'm a midwesterner who married an Indian, so I'm always looking for recipes that make him call me his "Indian wife"-- this is one! For our tastes, I double all the spices in the batter-- make the trip to the indian market, it's worth it. I use whatever veg I have on hand (try carrots, spinach, broccoli, mushrooms), dice them small, and add the whole lot to the batter and stir. Then drop by tablespoons into the hot oil. Don't worry, they will form together into patties when they cook (or if they fall apart a little, they're so tasty no one will mind!), cook until they seem just a little overdone to make them good and crispy. They're not bad the second day, if they last, just a bit soggy. Reheat in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Yum! I took another user's advice and diced the vegetables and just mixed them with the batter. I fried them in about 1/2 inch of oil to prevent them from falling apart. The vegetables I used were spinach, potato, carrot, cauliflower, and onion. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
These were a big hit! The batter has a wonderful flavour, and they stay crunchy for a few hours. I'm not sure how well they keep past then, because they didn't last long enough to find out. I added broccoli, red pepper, grated carrot and zucchini to the cauliflower and onion, and the added vegetables worked wonderfully with the batter. They're best if allowed to cook until quite brown, almost overdone looking, and served fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This recipe was quite tasty and authentic. I've made it twice now with only a few minor adjustments: 1 tsp chili powder for a bit more spice, 1 tsp garlic powder instead of cloves, and a handful of freshly chopped coriander. If you like it really spicy, you can also add a green chili or two. For the first round, I used slightly less cauliflower and added 1 large potato (cubed) to the mix. For the second round, I used potato & brocoli. Both variations tasted great! I mixed everything together in the batter and then dropped spoonfuls of mixture into the oil. (Note: Pakora is usually a small cluster of fried veggies, but if they don't stick together, don't worry. It doesn't affect the taste at all!) My cook time was about 10-15 minutes per batch, but I don't use a deep-fryer, so perhaps the deep-fryer is a bit quicker. For a more traditional dipping sauce, try a mint chutney, but if you prefer to keep it simple, ranch dressing & ketchup work great too! These tasty little treats WILL disappear quickly, so doubling the recipe is a good idea! I made a single batch this evening, and hubby & I polished off the entire plate! Makes a great appetizer or snack food, and once you get the hang of it, you can whip this up in no time at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Wow! just like the restaurant! I was specifically looking for a pakora recipe, not expecing to find one and it's great. So crispy and spicy, just like the restaurant's. ALl I need now is to find a recipe for that green yogurt suace they give you and i'll be in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I have always loved Pakora's. They are my favorite indian appetizer and these were fabulous. I have never made these before and now I may never order them at a restaurant again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
i just made this for lunch, and it was excellent. i scaled this recipe to 1 serving, because all i had was a little bit of cauliflower left. i didn't have coriander, turmeric or any of the other spices, so i just substituted an equal amt of curry powder instead. anyway, i was a bit skeptical because i'm not a huge fan of cauliflower, but this was GREAT..i couldn't eat it fast enough, it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetneet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This was a very simple, tasty pakora recipe. I would have suggested a little more spices, and especially salt. I made it with sliced potatoes and it was good. Make sure you get the oil very hot and cook each side for a good 2-3 minutes or the vegetables will not cook thouroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
This was an easy and very tasty addition to our "Indian" style dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I couldn't cook these things fast enough. Everybody was eating them as soon as they were done. I had to make another batch, to satisfy my hungry horde...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Warren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States