Crispy Vegetable Pakoras Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I thought that the batter did not hold on to the cauliflower very well, but the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Yum! I took another user's advice and diced the vegetables and just mixed them with the batter. I fried them in about 1/2 inch of oil to prevent them from falling apart. The vegetables I used were spinach, potato, carrot, cauliflower, and onion. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Tastes authentic, like the Pakora my mom makes. I add 35% more spice. Favorites are sweet potato and califlower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Love this recipe... I'm a midwesterner who married an Indian, so I'm always looking for recipes that make him call me his "Indian wife"-- this is one! For our tastes, I double all the spices in the batter-- make the trip to the indian market, it's worth it. I use whatever veg I have on hand (try carrots, spinach, broccoli, mushrooms), dice them small, and add the whole lot to the batter and stir. Then drop by tablespoons into the hot oil. Don't worry, they will form together into patties when they cook (or if they fall apart a little, they're so tasty no one will mind!), cook until they seem just a little overdone to make them good and crispy. They're not bad the second day, if they last, just a bit soggy. Reheat in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Good stuff! I'll add a bit more of the spices next time and try other veggies as well. I used a bit of garlic powder instead of cloves, as previously suggested. I was concerned about the consistency of the "batter", so I added more water (1/2 cup?) to make it more batter-y and it worked great. Now that I see the suggestion that pakoras are supposed to be little clumps of veggies instead of individual fritter-type things, I see where the thicker batter makes sense. I think I'll still do it my way though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Good. I did add an egg to the batter and felt that was a better coating consistency. I also used garlic powder instead and paprika instead of red chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Try mushroom pakoras!! Mmm Eggplant, parboiled fresh greenbeans too. Sprinkle with a little bit of Chaat Masala, Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poodiesgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imperial, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This recipe was quite tasty and authentic. I've made it twice now with only a few minor adjustments: 1 tsp chili powder for a bit more spice, 1 tsp garlic powder instead of cloves, and a handful of freshly chopped coriander. If you like it really spicy, you can also add a green chili or two. For the first round, I used slightly less cauliflower and added 1 large potato (cubed) to the mix. For the second round, I used potato & brocoli. Both variations tasted great! I mixed everything together in the batter and then dropped spoonfuls of mixture into the oil. (Note: Pakora is usually a small cluster of fried veggies, but if they don't stick together, don't worry. It doesn't affect the taste at all!) My cook time was about 10-15 minutes per batch, but I don't use a deep-fryer, so perhaps the deep-fryer is a bit quicker. For a more traditional dipping sauce, try a mint chutney, but if you prefer to keep it simple, ranch dressing & ketchup work great too! These tasty little treats WILL disappear quickly, so doubling the recipe is a good idea! I made a single batch this evening, and hubby & I polished off the entire plate! Makes a great appetizer or snack food, and once you get the hang of it, you can whip this up in no time at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This is one of those messy recipes. I cooked it in a deep fryer outside in the summer to eliminate the odor inside the house. It was very delicious though. I also used eggplant and broccoli. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This was a very simple, tasty pakora recipe. I would have suggested a little more spices, and especially salt. I made it with sliced potatoes and it was good. Make sure you get the oil very hot and cook each side for a good 2-3 minutes or the vegetables will not cook thouroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States