Crispy Vegetable Pakoras Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I had to adjust the spices for my taste, I needed much more. I chopped carrot, cooked spinach, cauliflower, peas & corn and onion. I found an Indian Pakora dipping sauce at the grocery store and it all came together fantastically. They got raves at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I am an Indian and we make this. we do add some finely chopped green chillies (serrano), Chaat masala powder & no garam masala. For viggies - try cabbage (make some 2" pieces), Okra (slit and stuff the dry ingredients inside), tomato sliced up. once you take them out of the oil sprinkle some more chaat masala - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
we cut out all the spices but the garlic and changed the flower to white regular. Couldn't find the other. The whole thing was too spicy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Marino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is one of the easiest and best recipes I've ever made! I've cooked these pakoras for several guests now and they never last more than a few minutes. The only downside is that they don't store well. After a while they get soggy left out or in the fridge. :( But I'd still be interested in using this basic recipe to act as a good base for more involved ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Outstanding! I fried onions, zucchini, paneer, bananas, and parboiled potato slices with this batter and there wasn't a scrap left after my family got done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was good, but I didn't think it was superb so I'm not going to make it again. My two dinner companions liked it much better than I did, however. I've never had pakoras, so I don't know if these are authentic or not. Double all the spices as other reviewers suggested. Also, chopping up the onions and veggies, mixing them in the batter, and then scooping them into the pan worked just fine. I used coconut oil and they cooked only 1-2 minutes each side. This is a good use for frozen veggies. I used broccoli, cauliflower, onion. I didn't have chickpea flour so I substituted regular flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I followed other advice and julienned/chopped veggies - potatoes, carrot, onion, broccoli and cauliflower - and threw those into the batter mix and stirred it up. I dropped the whole thing by spoonfuls into the hot oil, and when they didn't hold together that great, I added just a bit more flour to the mix. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These were amazing. I grated carrots and zucchini, chopped onion, red pepper and parsnip. I mixed it with the flour and water batter and droped by spoonsful into the hot oil. The seasonsings in the recipe were delicious - didn't change anything. Great flavour, easy to make, definitely a keeper! Thanks veggigoddess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
So good! Just like in a restaurant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe! I have made this twice now,I altered the recipe slightly by using a little less water, and it was warm water, also, for chicken pakora, i added a little tomato puree for a red colour for the batter, and i didn't have the oil as hot, adults and kids couldn't get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States