Crispy Vegetable Pakoras Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ShannyBanany
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made these last week with a Middle Eastern inspired dinner that I was making and they turned out great! I followed the recipe for the batter as written, however I used regular A/P flour as that's all that I had on hand. I also used garlic powder rather than fresh garlic, and after reading some reviews I added 1/2tsp of cumin to the batter as well. I ended up having to add about 1c of water to the batter, but I think that's probably because of the A/P flour. I had a bag of frozen mixed veggies that I needed to use up, so that's what I used rather than onions and cauliflower. I thawed the veggies in the micro and drained them, then added them directly to the batter and mixed it all together. I fried them in veg oil on the stove top in small batches. They held together really nicely and barely broke apart at all while they were cooking. I cooked them until they were a nice golden brown and they turned out wonderful! Very good flavor, chewy, crunchy, and a great addition to the other parts of the meal. I made a yogurt cilantro sauce for dipping which complimented these very nicely (4tbsp plain yogurt, 1tbsp sour cream, a few dashed of hot sauce, a few dashes of chili powder, 1tbsp dried cilantro, refrigerate for a few mins to let flavors meld). Great recipe and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
You can bake these in a hot oven using fry light. just make sure you turn them over after about ten minutes and spray them again. They come out nice and crispy. So all the taste and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was an easy to follow recipe producing a very tasty appetizer or snack. There is just the right hint of spice. To kick it up a notch I am planning to double the spices in the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Good recipe. As a Scot living in America I really miss my Indian food and make it whenever I can. The great thing about Pakora is that you can make extra, just slightly undercooked, and freeze it. A minute or so in the fryer and it comes out tasting like you made it from scratch...I always make really huge batches that last for three or four meals...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becki67
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I will definitely make this again. These really were very easy to make. I'm glad I listened to other reviewers who chopped the veggies into smaller bits and mixed them directly with the batter; that worked well. I also appreciated the tip to cook the pakoras until they look like they're a little overdone--they came out perfect that way. I wish I had heeded the reviewers who said to double the spices and salt. I felt the batter was a little bland; I would have liked some cumin in it. And for some reason, although I measured carefully, my batter was very thin. I wound up sifting quite a bit more chick pea flour over the batter/veggie mix and continuing to mix until I had the desired consistency. (Perhaps I should have added extra spices at this point). Overall, though, they came out great with my little adjustments, and I will tweak further next time by adding more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Excellent recipe. Loved the flavor. Would have liked a little more heat next time. Next time, I'll probably at 1 tsp of garam masala and maybe 1/2 tsp curry. Other recipes I read said to let the batter sit for 20 minutes, so I did that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Wow, these are actually better than the ones I've had at restaurants! I took the advice of others and just mixed the veggies into the batter. I also added shredded carrots, frozen spinach, and potatoes (boiled, peeled, and chopped). I used a cookie scoop to scoop the mixture into the hot oil. Tastes awesome with ranch dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
My first time frying! I made the pakoras too large so i suggest keeping the size smaller. Very easy, fun and taste like legitimate pakoras!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I loved this recipe. I also chopped my veggies and shallow fried them. I used baby spinach, red onion, and cauliflower (that I had left over). Came out better than our favorite local Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aroche1204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
We live in Little India so we're used to authentic Indian food. I made these tonight but used mixed veggies (cooked and cubed carrots, potatoes, cauliflower, peas, onion, spinach), put fresh cilantro and extra of all the spices into the batter and they were perfect! My son said they're better than the ones they serve at the Indian hall he works at :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States