Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I ate 4 servings even though I think the recipe needs work, so I gave it 4 stars instead of 3. :) I used 1/2 cup of cheese instead of 1/3, and fresh garlic because I didn't have garlic salt, and no onion powder because I didn't have that either. All of that was fine. I also used two tbsp oil instead of one, that was a mistake, too greasy. I baked them for 20 minutes at 425 and cranked up the oven to 450 and watched them for another couple minutes - took them out when the edges on two or three started to burn. Whoever said the cheese was the only thing crispy about these... I had that experience also. #1 change these need is something to crisp them up on the outside. I didn't have to turn them, although maybe that would have helped. Cutting them thinner (more like shoestrings than pub fries) might have helped too - the thinner ones seemed a bit crisper. The flavor was good though. They're just a little sweet, which is nice. No, they don't taste just like potato fries. Soy milk doesn't taste just like dairy milk, and veggie burgers don't taste just like beef burgers. I like these things for what they are, not how much they do or don't taste like something else, but to each their own. If you're looking for potato fries, try potatoes; but if you don't mind something a little different, give these a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Would have given it three and a half......but can't. They were good ,I would probably add something else , I just don't know what. I have a feeling these are an acquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These were pretty good. My teenager had no idea they were made from turnips. I reccomend turning them half way thru the baking process. I am not sure exactly what happened to mine but the only part that was really 'crispy' was the cheese. The cheese started to burn a bit. Also, I grew up with Scotland relatives and to them, a turnip is what we call a rutabaga. I did use turnip but next time I think I might try rutabaga to see how that tastes. I dipped mine in light sour cream with a dash of dill. The spices used in this recipe are really good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
i thought this was pretty good. i used a generous amount of melted butter instead of the oil. i recommend cutting the turnip slices quite thin so they are a bit crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Me and two kids tried this recipe. We all LOVED it! I cut them thinly to try to get them extra crispy but after cooking them for more than 20 minutes they were still droopy. But still, very very tasty! I didn't use the tablespoon of oil though, instead I sprayed pam into the bag to coat the turnips while going easy on the fat. This was my first time eating turnips. Even if I can never get these fries crispy- this is still a new favorite. Who knew turnips were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rio Grande, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I tried baking these on an elevated rack to see if they would get crunchier. Nope. They got more chewy rather then crispy. I did like the flavor quite a bit though... I added chili powder, cumin, garlic powder s&p. I'll definitely make these again..nice lighter sub for potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I loved these but they need to be turned halfway through cooking to avoid burning. I'll be experimenting with different spices for some options but I thought they were better than seasoned french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
For turnips this is actually good. I was surprised. I don't think turnips can get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
gotta love turnips, this is very good used with a side sauce like a mild horsey or a meat sauce (ketchup/mustard mix)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
it smells and taste bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States