Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Turnips are a nice low-carb option vs. the potato so that's awesome.... and I liked the mix of seasonings. I used grapeseed oil because that's what I had and they turned out soggy even though I cooked them higher and longer. Would love to know how to make them crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eat2live2eat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Pleasantly surprised! I added cracked pepper & garlic powder, subtracted the garlic salt and replaced it w/ sea salt. Put together a spicy garlic aioli for dipping. -Very pleased w/ this find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattwurth06

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
These have potential, but I followed the recipe almost exactly and my fries were no where near crispy. The only change I made was to use olive oil in place of vegetable oil. The flavor was a bit mild and seemed to be missing something. I may fiddle with this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
We tried it with the rutabaga because they were bigger. Used our food processor so it sliced pretty thin, but they still didn't get crunchy in the 20 min. Anybody have any ideas why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Me and two kids tried this recipe. We all LOVED it! I cut them thinly to try to get them extra crispy but after cooking them for more than 20 minutes they were still droopy. But still, very very tasty! I didn't use the tablespoon of oil though, instead I sprayed pam into the bag to coat the turnips while going easy on the fat. This was my first time eating turnips. Even if I can never get these fries crispy- this is still a new favorite. Who knew turnips were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rio Grande, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I ate 4 servings even though I think the recipe needs work, so I gave it 4 stars instead of 3. :) I used 1/2 cup of cheese instead of 1/3, and fresh garlic because I didn't have garlic salt, and no onion powder because I didn't have that either. All of that was fine. I also used two tbsp oil instead of one, that was a mistake, too greasy. I baked them for 20 minutes at 425 and cranked up the oven to 450 and watched them for another couple minutes - took them out when the edges on two or three started to burn. Whoever said the cheese was the only thing crispy about these... I had that experience also. #1 change these need is something to crisp them up on the outside. I didn't have to turn them, although maybe that would have helped. Cutting them thinner (more like shoestrings than pub fries) might have helped too - the thinner ones seemed a bit crisper. The flavor was good though. They're just a little sweet, which is nice. No, they don't taste just like potato fries. Soy milk doesn't taste just like dairy milk, and veggie burgers don't taste just like beef burgers. I like these things for what they are, not how much they do or don't taste like something else, but to each their own. If you're looking for potato fries, try potatoes; but if you don't mind something a little different, give these a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Very surprising! I love these! Its a great way to prepare Turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
For turnips this is actually good. I was surprised. I don't think turnips can get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delish my Family all liked it & it is a different way to serve turnip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bouquet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made theses at work and everyione loved them. Definately habit forming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States