Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
They didn't come out crispy at all and it could be because I have an electric stove. I even tried one of Tyler Florence's tricks to heat up the pan in the oven so when the "fries" go on it they sear immediately. I added onion powder and salt once they were done cooking and the taste was delicious. I'm going to experiment with more of a chip style fry, as I noticed my thinner pieces had more of a crunch... Either way though they are still tasty little things! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
a bit too cheesy and the turnips are a bit soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I have made these before but I used olive oil and chili pepper. Really good and not too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made these without cheese. They were delicious. I didn't think I would like them. I added cheyenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I wouldn't exactly call these "French Fries" but if you aren't trying to compare them to real potato fries, then they are very good. The flavor of the spice blend is great, they cook faster than squash or sweet potato "fries," and the crunchy exterior/creamy interior is a nice combination. I will make these again. Thanks for another great turnip recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These were really good. I sliced them very thin. They weren't exactly crispy, but they weren't soggy. I used smoked paprika instead of regular. We will definitely make them again when we get turnips in our CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Don't expect these to taste like fries b/c they aren't even close. I really liked this recipe and will make it again. Even my husband thought it was great. All I'm saying is don't expect anything similar to a potato. As long as you remember you are cooking turnips and the flavour will be different, then give these a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
These are a great alternative to french fries FOR SOME MEALS. I mean, they are missing the right texture for serving with say, corn dogs, hot dogs, or standard styled hamburgers. However, there are other meals which go just right with these fries. For example, hubs likes those bratwurst patties, eaten sort of like hamburgers, or Reuben sandwiches, or similar types of meals, and these 'fries' go very well with them. With those types of meals, we actually prefer the turnip fries, even though they aren't as crisp as we'd like. In addition to liking them better for some meals, the lower calorie alternative is a plus that makes it nice to work into an otherwise ***too*** high calorie meal for those of us needing to watch the scale quite carefully..... Oh, we don't usually use much ketchup on our potato fries, but IMHO, either ketchup, mustard, or a combo of both is necessary with these. I've been wondering about other dips... perhaps honey mustard or balsamic, pepper and oil, depending on the meal??? I love the idea of cinnamon and sugar, but haven't thought of a good meal to put them with....???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I loved it! I'm generally a gluten-free eater and potatoes are kind of off the list as well so this worked really well for me. Raw turnips remind me of carrots (a little bit sweet) so oven frying them like this they reminded me of sweet potato fries. I imagine these would be delicious with cinnamon and sugar on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Unbelievable. Never had turnips before and LOVE this. I will never make regular potato fries again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States