Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Our family really didn't care for these. They never did get crispy. And when they caramelized, they became a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I thought these were great. A few reviewers mentioned that the "fries" weren't crispy, so I added a shake or two of panko to the bag with the seasonings and cheese. I cut mine into steak fry shape, and they needed probably twice as long in the oven, but they came out with a nice crunch from the panko, and I enjoyed them very much. I will definitely make again using smoked paprika next time and perhaps a sharper cheese like romano or asiago. Thanks IM COOKIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I'd never had turnips before, but I wanted to try them so I made this recipe. I thought it tasted delicious! The flavor combination was great. These aren't potato fries, of course, and I found that I didn't actually like them with ketchup the way I eat regular or sweet potato fries...but they were great on their own and with the brown gravy I also happened to be serving with the meal. My only issue was that they were pretty mushy. I cut them thin, like shoestring fries, since I had read in other reviews that larger fries didn't crisp, but I still didn't have any luck. They baked into a mushy fry-shape (but they still tasted good!). I ended up leaving half the fries in the oven to keep them warm for my husband's late dinner, and actually they had firmed up a bit more by the time he got to them. Maybe I just need to try baking them for 30-40 minutes instead. Thanks for the recipe; I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Maybe I did something wrong, but these were nothing like fries. They were solid and almost juicy inside, and not crunchy outside. Almost roasted? I won't be repeating the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Delicious while they are hot, but not so good when they cool off. I'd also suggest trying chili powder instead of the paprika. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
They didn't come out crispy at all and it could be because I have an electric stove. I even tried one of Tyler Florence's tricks to heat up the pan in the oven so when the "fries" go on it they sear immediately. I added onion powder and salt once they were done cooking and the taste was delicious. I'm going to experiment with more of a chip style fry, as I noticed my thinner pieces had more of a crunch... Either way though they are still tasty little things! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
a bit too cheesy and the turnips are a bit soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I have made these before but I used olive oil and chili pepper. Really good and not too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made these without cheese. They were delicious. I didn't think I would like them. I added cheyenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I wouldn't exactly call these "French Fries" but if you aren't trying to compare them to real potato fries, then they are very good. The flavor of the spice blend is great, they cook faster than squash or sweet potato "fries," and the crunchy exterior/creamy interior is a nice combination. I will make these again. Thanks for another great turnip recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States