Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
leave in till very crispy and eat asap
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I flipped after 10 minutes to help cook them evenly. After the 20 minutes total baking time I tossed them in the broiler for 3-4 more minutes a side. This helped crisp them up a bit. If you choose this option make sure you watch them closely, depending on your broiler strength they could burn easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I made this recipe using turnips and parsnips minus the paprika and it still tasted good. The parsnip fries tasted sweet. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and cooked it for a few minutes less time than needed. Make sure you keep an eye on the fries or they will get too crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
It was hard to get them crispy with this technique. I cooked them an extra 10 minutes, and no luck. Kids ate them very reluctantly, and even then, with lots of ketchup. Honestly, I think it's not the recipe, it's the turnips. Adults who can appreciate the peculiar taste of turnips might serve them with a nice steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I really wasn't expecting to like these so much! Even my bf was a fan! I didn't really measure anything and I chose olive oil over veg. My turnips were from mom's garden and were much smaller so I just used my noggin to figure out how to cut them and how long to bake them. Great combo of seasonings and easy prep make this a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I think I have learned that I just hate turnips. My turnips had a very strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
So good! Even my husband loved them. I used EVOO instead of veggie oil (since it's all I had on hand) and instead of paprika+onion powder, I added rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I would have given them 3.5 stars based on my perception of them, but my 1 year old really liked them. :) Not too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I LOVED this recipe!!!! I run a child care and it was the end of the day when I asked one of the four year old to help me prepare these. He asked if he could try one. I said sure. Not thinking he would like them. BIG mistake...He loved them and ended up eating half the batch....:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
What a creative idea! Its kind of like doing the same thing with yucca root. I added my own twist to this. Instead of putting in the oven I used my Salad Master sauce pan and put a thin layer of safflower oil. I still did the bag mix only I put parmesan cheese with a hint of caribbean fish seasoning. The trick is to fry on medium low temp stove top. I made yummy a salad with fresh spinach, red leaf lettuce, a little carrot, mushrooms, strawberries, purple cabbage shavings. I topped the salad with the fried turnips..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States