Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this recipe tonight. I have a picture, looks the same only on a white plate, I have no idea how to resize it to post here, though. I used Cajun seasoning. I did not use foil or oil on the baking pan, because I used a pampered chef bar pan and it doesn`t require oiling. I put 1 Tsp. olive oil in with the seasoning and shook after adding the turnips, until evenly coated. All I can say is Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doria Cowell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I tired it as posted and LOVED them and make them regularly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
They are turnips. They were good though I did add red pepper flakes and a bit more parm cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
We really enjoyed this, I agree with turning them half way through and maybe cooking 5 min longer. They have a sweet flavor which is surprising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Not bad, just not anything particularly special. I also recommend turning the fries halfway through, but it`s unlikely you will get them really crispy - just as you wouldn`t with potato oven fries. Might make these again and add some more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Turnips had a strong flavor. If they weren't so strong they would have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
i had never tried trunips before, but these were actually good :-) But couldnt get them crispy, they were very soft, kind of reminded me more or onion rings versus french fries because of the onion powder. But I'm glad I can add another veggie in the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
These were amazing! No, they aren't crispy like fries but they are a great alternative if you are looking for low carb or for adding more or different veggies into you meal rotation. I pretty much made exactly using my own purchases spice mix called Nick's Mix which is similar to Lawry's but spicier. I didn't wait for the oven to pre-heat, just put it all in and set the timer for 30 minutes. I took one out and tested it and it was super yummy. I let the rest sit for another 5 or 10 minutes or so. They are phenomenal!!! (p.s. first time for turnips for me, pleasantly surprised!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly but these turned out mushy and watery. I even cooked them much longer than the recipe called for, hoping they would get crispy but it never happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
leave in till very crispy and eat asap
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States