Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I made these tonight and it came out perfect - seasoning was perfect, the fries were crisp = I didn't have to turn them. but I cut them pretty thin like McDonald's fries and they were crisp all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayne Poole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this recipe tonight. I have a picture, looks the same only on a white plate, I have no idea how to resize it to post here, though. I used Cajun seasoning. I did not use foil or oil on the baking pan, because I used a pampered chef bar pan and it doesn`t require oiling. I put 1 Tsp. olive oil in with the seasoning and shook after adding the turnips, until evenly coated. All I can say is Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doria Cowell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I tired it as posted and LOVED them and make them regularly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
They are turnips. They were good though I did add red pepper flakes and a bit more parm cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
We really enjoyed this, I agree with turning them half way through and maybe cooking 5 min longer. They have a sweet flavor which is surprising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Not bad, just not anything particularly special. I also recommend turning the fries halfway through, but it`s unlikely you will get them really crispy - just as you wouldn`t with potato oven fries. Might make these again and add some more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Turnips had a strong flavor. If they weren't so strong they would have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
i had never tried trunips before, but these were actually good :-) But couldnt get them crispy, they were very soft, kind of reminded me more or onion rings versus french fries because of the onion powder. But I'm glad I can add another veggie in the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
These were amazing! No, they aren't crispy like fries but they are a great alternative if you are looking for low carb or for adding more or different veggies into you meal rotation. I pretty much made exactly using my own purchases spice mix called Nick's Mix which is similar to Lawry's but spicier. I didn't wait for the oven to pre-heat, just put it all in and set the timer for 30 minutes. I took one out and tested it and it was super yummy. I let the rest sit for another 5 or 10 minutes or so. They are phenomenal!!! (p.s. first time for turnips for me, pleasantly surprised!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly but these turned out mushy and watery. I even cooked them much longer than the recipe called for, hoping they would get crispy but it never happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States