Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
It was hard to get them crispy with this technique. I cooked them an extra 10 minutes, and no luck. Kids ate them very reluctantly, and even then, with lots of ketchup. Honestly, I think it's not the recipe, it's the turnips. Adults who can appreciate the peculiar taste of turnips might serve them with a nice steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I really wasn't expecting to like these so much! Even my bf was a fan! I didn't really measure anything and I chose olive oil over veg. My turnips were from mom's garden and were much smaller so I just used my noggin to figure out how to cut them and how long to bake them. Great combo of seasonings and easy prep make this a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I think I have learned that I just hate turnips. My turnips had a very strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
So good! Even my husband loved them. I used EVOO instead of veggie oil (since it's all I had on hand) and instead of paprika+onion powder, I added rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I would have given them 3.5 stars based on my perception of them, but my 1 year old really liked them. :) Not too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I LOVED this recipe!!!! I run a child care and it was the end of the day when I asked one of the four year old to help me prepare these. He asked if he could try one. I said sure. Not thinking he would like them. BIG mistake...He loved them and ended up eating half the batch....:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
What a creative idea! Its kind of like doing the same thing with yucca root. I added my own twist to this. Instead of putting in the oven I used my Salad Master sauce pan and put a thin layer of safflower oil. I still did the bag mix only I put parmesan cheese with a hint of caribbean fish seasoning. The trick is to fry on medium low temp stove top. I made yummy a salad with fresh spinach, red leaf lettuce, a little carrot, mushrooms, strawberries, purple cabbage shavings. I topped the salad with the fried turnips..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Yep turnips are a taste you either like or don't - no gray area, and they don't taste like potatoes. I grew up eating them raw sprinkled with salt or boiled/mashed with butter, so I happen to like the taste. I also liked the recipe and so did my family, however I cut them thin like chips and swapped the oil/butter with egg whites, tossed them in that then the spice mix. It kinds helps them "crisp" up. (still only barely crispy tho!)...oh but still spray the sheet with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
maybe i missed something but I made these like shoestring size, looking at the #1 review for this recipe, kept everything the same and they still burned on the tips. Taste may have been better but I didn't use cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was my first try at making turnips, and we loved them! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States