Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Yes, you know they are turnips, but you can't stop eating them---and you want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I'm on a low carb diet & wanted to try these. I cut them pretty thin like shoestring fries and used what I had in the pantry: olive/grapeseed/canola blend oil, garlic powder, smoked paprika, parm cheese, some garlic herb seasoning salt, and for kicks I tossed in some garlic/parm popcorn seasoning since I had it sitting around. The smoked paprika gave it a great flavor & aroma combined with all the garlic. I baked for 15 minutes, turned them (they were still soggy at that point), then baked for another 10 on an insulated cookie sheet. DELICIOUS! My husband & 4-yr old son loved them too! They didn't crisp up much, but very flavorful. Recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
It was a tasty snack. The turnips were an oddly sweet flavor when you're used to a potato, but it was a good substitute. I just eyeballed olive oil, Parmesan, basil, garlic powder, and salt/pepper. Tossed in a bowl the baked for 20 minutes. One side was a little darker, so maybe I'll flip them next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Yum! I love to try out new recipes with my family. I rarely get any complaints. This one is delicious as well. I do agree with one of the other reviews to turn halfway through the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I really loved! I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and turn out to be really nice unique exotic flavor for this dish!I really recommend !If are you looking for a healthier way to make this this recipe, coconut oil is a good option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Substitute the vegetable oil with coconut oil to make it LCHF - coconut oil has a far higher temperature threshold then vegetable oil (which you should avoid whilst on LCHF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Le Roux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
It was great with guacamole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I made these tonight and it came out perfect - seasoning was perfect, the fries were crisp = I didn't have to turn them. but I cut them pretty thin like McDonald's fries and they were crisp all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayne Poole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this recipe tonight. I have a picture, looks the same only on a white plate, I have no idea how to resize it to post here, though. I used Cajun seasoning. I did not use foil or oil on the baking pan, because I used a pampered chef bar pan and it doesn`t require oiling. I put 1 Tsp. olive oil in with the seasoning and shook after adding the turnips, until evenly coated. All I can say is Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doria Cowell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I tired it as posted and LOVED them and make them regularly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States