Crispy Shrimp Tempura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
it was an excellent recipe! fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Llamas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
LOVED IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I had 2 pounds of shrimp to cook so I doubled the recipe exactly. I used my deep fryer and kept the temperature at 375. When the shrimp came out they were delicious and crispy for a minute or two, then they began to get soggy. I had to do several batches so most of my shrimp were doomed to sogginess. I solved the problem by quickly dipping the battered shrimp in Panko bread crumbs before frying. These stayed crispy and were very good, but they were not exactly tempura shrimp anymore. This is a good recipe if you do a small amount and be sure to serve it immediately. I’m not sure, but I think this will be true of any tempura shrimp recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Used this tempura recipe yesterday because I could not find my usual tempura recipe. The batter was bland and not crispy at all. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I tried this recipe and it was wonderful.I added onion powder n garlic salt for flavor. The batter was fluffy n tasty. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I make tempura shrimp alot and I usually just use boxed tempura batter, but i was out so i thought i would try to make it from scratch. i went by the directions exactly and i had the same problem that others had. the shrimp never turned brown and were soggy no matter what i did. the flavor of the batter is good, but this is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was pretty bad. It tasted like shrimp wrapped in egg white. I stopped making them in the middle of cooking and used the shrimp with another recipe. This recipe is a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I did not use an egg but substituted for 1tbs baking powder. I found this idea on a vegan website. I made veggies for me and shrimp for the DH.I made him shrimp tempura sushi. I used coconut oil and my cast iron skillet. This recipe was awesome!! I flipped my veggies & shrimp in order to get a nice golden color on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
We used this recipe when we were doing Tempura veggies and ran out of the box mix. This was easier to mix because the water didn't have to be ice cold and tasted and fried exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayleelyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States