Crispy Shrimp Tempura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Llamas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
LOVED IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I had 2 pounds of shrimp to cook so I doubled the recipe exactly. I used my deep fryer and kept the temperature at 375. When the shrimp came out they were delicious and crispy for a minute or two, then they began to get soggy. I had to do several batches so most of my shrimp were doomed to sogginess. I solved the problem by quickly dipping the battered shrimp in Panko bread crumbs before frying. These stayed crispy and were very good, but they were not exactly tempura shrimp anymore. This is a good recipe if you do a small amount and be sure to serve it immediately. I’m not sure, but I think this will be true of any tempura shrimp recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Used this tempura recipe yesterday because I could not find my usual tempura recipe. The batter was bland and not crispy at all. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I tried this recipe and it was wonderful.I added onion powder n garlic salt for flavor. The batter was fluffy n tasty. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I make tempura shrimp alot and I usually just use boxed tempura batter, but i was out so i thought i would try to make it from scratch. i went by the directions exactly and i had the same problem that others had. the shrimp never turned brown and were soggy no matter what i did. the flavor of the batter is good, but this is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was pretty bad. It tasted like shrimp wrapped in egg white. I stopped making them in the middle of cooking and used the shrimp with another recipe. This recipe is a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I did not use an egg but substituted for 1tbs baking powder. I found this idea on a vegan website. I made veggies for me and shrimp for the DH.I made him shrimp tempura sushi. I used coconut oil and my cast iron skillet. This recipe was awesome!! I flipped my veggies & shrimp in order to get a nice golden color on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
We used this recipe when we were doing Tempura veggies and ran out of the box mix. This was easier to mix because the water didn't have to be ice cold and tasted and fried exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayleelyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was a failure for me. No flavor, not crispy, didn't stick to my shrimp. I used my Fry Granpappy so the oil was fresh and hot. I fried up some fresh broccoli, vidalia onions, and zucchini along with the shrimp. I didn't overcrowd the fryer. The batter never looked like it was done, I expected a bit of browning, but none occurred. I've had so much better, I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States