Crispy Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I've made this several times, initially as directed then subsequently different variations due to spices on-hand (or not on-hand). I've cooked the chicken both cut up and as a whole fryer, either way it has always been deliciously moist, and so flavorful! And as added bonuses, the carcass makes great stock and the left over chicken is wonderful in chicken wild rice soup. This recipe has become such a family favorite that two birds are always cooked in order to have left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Excellent! Chicken turned out tender & very juicy. The herbs/spices were subtle, a wonderful tasty blend, next time I'll double them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Really awesome flavor, and have made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
The spice rub is nice, but the cooking method isn't. The white meat will be WAY over cooked for that heat and time. Either (a) spatchcock the bird and remove when 160 (which will be ~15m earlier) (b) cut up the bird and test white meat around 30-40m and remove while dark meat finishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy House

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Mine didnt turn out really crispy but I really liked the spice mix and the meat was moist, if you don't plan on eating the skin make sure to rub some underneath the skin to get more flavor on the meat because it doesn't soak through much. I think im going to steal the spice mix for to make a similar rub for pork or something in my smoker bet it would go great with hickory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Lots of flavor! I subbed out the flour with all purpose gluten free flower and that may be why it wasn't as crispy as I would have a liked. But, overall, delicious flavor, tender and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Great flavor! Maybe I need to check my oven temp, but I had this in for 35 minutes at 400 degrees and it was done, so I'd watch the time and the temp. Worth the eagle eye, because this coating is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ScottM
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I followed this to the letter, worked great. Took a little less time in my oven but I didn't pay attention to the weight of the chicken first, seemed a tad small but it tastes amazing. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This was great!!! I just used spices I had on hand,I think it would work with about anything! Will make often. Thanks for a real keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I feel the spice paste was too heavy on the paprika and way too many calories added with the oil. The texture on the baked skin was mealy (that's the best word I can find to describe it). Considering all the great reviews, we were disappointed. You should probably try it yourself at least once though. Lots of people love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States