Crispy Rice Cereal Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This recipe is very, very tasty! I used it to make 2 very large Easter eggs and a bunch of small ones (I doubled the recipe). The larger your balls, the less chocolate you're going to need! Just a heads up. I used crunchy peanut butter and wish I hadn't--it made it quite a bit harder to get the eggs to hold their shape. I also took other reviewers' advice and squished my rice krispies (which had about a 1/4c. cornflakes in too...didn't want to open another box & cornflakes were open). Another thing...I have been replacing half of our real sugar with fake sugar for a long time now, so this candy with its full amount of powdered sugar was almost too rich for me. I'm going to do something about that next time but I'm not going to just omit the sugar because the recipe really NEEDS the powder there to help make the PB workable. Might just change out for Splenda, or maybe use a sugar-free PB (assuming I can find a decent brand, bleh). I'd recommend this tasty recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
These are good little morsels that taste like peanut butter cups. Definitely increase the chocolate by at least another 1/4 cup. I highly recommend refrigerating the formed balls for a little bit to help firm them up. It really helped when dipping them into the warm chocolate. I think I will crush the cereal a little next time. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very good. Made this like the oreo balls type of cookie. Put the mix in the freezer and used a bit at a time while lettting it get firmer. Also used chocolate almond bark instead of choc. chips since we were out. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
These are great! I would make one suggestion - you can crush the krispies for a smoother filling. We made little mice shapes and garnished with half peanuts for ears and a pretzel stick tail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Def. a 5-star recipe! Quick & easy and chocolate & peanut butter. What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Tasty and addictive! I orginal plan was to make this recipe for family day at my daughters pre-school. I decided not to take them because they just weren't very attractive and I didn't think they would stand up to the heat (outdoor thing) very well. I put them in the freezer and they freeze very well. They are actually very yummy frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Nothing like a quick and easy treat that doesn't require any baking!! Due to my daughters peanut allergy, I used her "soy nut butter" to make these balls along with chocolate flavored crispy rice cereal. I'm so jealous of the reviewer who got 29 balls out of her batch. I didn't get nearly that much. I certainly wish I had 'cos they were so yummy. I guess it depends on how large you make them. Anyway, thanks Edna; we loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was a great recipe - I made them for Christnas Day and everyone ate them up quickly. Only thing I did differently (just because it was easier and quicker) was that I drizzled the chocolate over the top of the balls instead of dunking and covering them completely. They turned out very pretty and there was plenty of chocolate left over. These will definately be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Very good - reminds me of my mom's Peanut Butter balls! My only comments - I would refrigerate a the mix (dough) a few minutes before trying to form into balls, otherwise they're a sticky mess. Secondly, 1 cup choc. chips just b-a-r-e-l-y covered all of them (I got 29 balls - FYI). Might want to dip sparingly or add a 1/4 c. choc chips to the recipe. Otherwise great, and easy! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States