Crispy Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
I also doubled the topping. I had all the ingrediants ready and realized I did not have pie dough... What to do? I am known for "winging it" soooo... I buttered my glass pie pan real slick and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over it. I then cut the crusts off of some white bread and smooshed it into the bottom and sides of my pan. I then followed the recipe. It turned out yummy. Usually the crust does not stay intact when I try to serve it. The bread not only turned a lovely brown, and served up intact but the little cinnamon on the bottom was just right! And to top it all... It was a cinch to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I can't say enough about this recipe. It was fantastic! It's like rhubarb crisp and rhubarb pie all in one but better than both. I followed the directions exactly and used the "best ever pie crust" recipe on this site for the crust. I used frozen rhubarb and drained it well after thawing so that my pie wouldn't be too wet. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
Easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This recipe turn my non rhubarb loving husband into a ravinous rhubarb-pie eating monster! I did use a 9 inch pie plate. Added an extra cup of rhubarb and 1/3C xtra sugar and tsp extra flour. Then for the topping I used Rice Krispies and just about doubled all toppings also. Baked it in a gas oven for additional 30 minutes, then shut off and let sit for an hour also. Nearly divine! I planted extra rhubarb this year for this pie alone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMERALDMIST

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joyce, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Fabulous pie. I've never done rhubarb without berries before, so I was hesitant. It tasted great, and the topping is one I will use on other pies in the future. I used some extra corn flakes because I like lots of crispiness with my crumble topping. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Very Good!! After reading the other reviews I also doubled the topping, but will lessen the amount of butter next time. We found it to be a bit greasy on top, but very tasty! Not too sweet and not too tart...Just Right! Thanks for sharing, Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
This is an excellent pie in terms of flavor and ease of preparation. I enjoyed it because it was not "too sweet" as some rhubarb pies can be. I used Honey Nut Corn Flakes and added about 1/4 cup more than recipe called for and had just wonderful results. And I especially appreciated that the crispiness of the topping was maintained over until the second day of serving . . . a real plus for smaller families who do not consume an entire pie at one meal. I will definitely make this one again and again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I LOVED IT!!! Just fabulous. I used graham wafer crust because I can't make a pastry dough to save my life, and it was just like apple crisp only with rhubarb! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
this was awesome and so incredibly easy to make. It was my very first time making rhubarb and it turned out delicious. Definitely making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I love this pie, but I add strawberries to help mute the tart flavour a little. Make this all the time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States