Crispy Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This recipe turn my non rhubarb loving husband into a ravinous rhubarb-pie eating monster! I did use a 9 inch pie plate. Added an extra cup of rhubarb and 1/3C xtra sugar and tsp extra flour. Then for the topping I used Rice Krispies and just about doubled all toppings also. Baked it in a gas oven for additional 30 minutes, then shut off and let sit for an hour also. Nearly divine! I planted extra rhubarb this year for this pie alone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMERALDMIST

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joyce, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Fabulous pie. I've never done rhubarb without berries before, so I was hesitant. It tasted great, and the topping is one I will use on other pies in the future. I used some extra corn flakes because I like lots of crispiness with my crumble topping. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
At the last minute, I realized that I didn't have corn flakes so I used rice krispies instead. I was surprised on how well it turned out. Delicious!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This IS the one! everybody loves this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Delicious......I made it in a graham cracker crust. It came out more like a rhubarb crisp than a pie, but it was excellent. May even try it with other fruits (blueberries, perhaps) I did not double the topping as some other reviewers have. I think it would have been too sweet. The topping was perfect for the 9" pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Very Good!! After reading the other reviews I also doubled the topping, but will lessen the amount of butter next time. We found it to be a bit greasy on top, but very tasty! Not too sweet and not too tart...Just Right! Thanks for sharing, Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I LOVED IT!!! Just fabulous. I used graham wafer crust because I can't make a pastry dough to save my life, and it was just like apple crisp only with rhubarb! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This recipe was pretty good...although I only gave it 3 stars. I doubled the crumb topping for this pie. However, the topping got a little too crispy. It was almost borderline "hard". Perhaps I will try it again and see if I recieve the same results...maybe I pressed it down a little too firmly? But the pie itself tasted great...I even added some strawberries like other reviews had suggested. That was a nice summer addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE_F

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Fabulous!! I made this for my Dad as a "memories of the farm" dish for Thansgiving. He, and the non-rhubarb fans LOVED IT! Wish I had made two pies - will next year. Sweet and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLFECOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Although my husband liked this pie the rest of us didn't really care for it. We felt it had much to much sugar and the corn flakes didn't really go with the "crust." It was fairly easy to make but not one that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States