Crispy Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
I have never cooked with rhubarb before. This pie was both easy and quick to prepare. I used a pre-made deep dish pie crust. Changed rhubarb to 4 cups and added a little extra sugar and flour to compensate for the additional rhubarb. Made 1 1/2 times the amount of topping and it was perfect. My husband raved over the pie. I didn't have plain corn flakes so I used frosted flakes. It was good. Next time I might substitute oatmeal for the corn flakes to see how that works. Corn flakes are slightly chewy after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This recipe turn my non rhubarb loving husband into a ravinous rhubarb-pie eating monster! I did use a 9 inch pie plate. Added an extra cup of rhubarb and 1/3C xtra sugar and tsp extra flour. Then for the topping I used Rice Krispies and just about doubled all toppings also. Baked it in a gas oven for additional 30 minutes, then shut off and let sit for an hour also. Nearly divine! I planted extra rhubarb this year for this pie alone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMERALDMIST

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joyce, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Fabulous pie. I've never done rhubarb without berries before, so I was hesitant. It tasted great, and the topping is one I will use on other pies in the future. I used some extra corn flakes because I like lots of crispiness with my crumble topping. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
At the last minute, I realized that I didn't have corn flakes so I used rice krispies instead. I was surprised on how well it turned out. Delicious!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This IS the one! everybody loves this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Delicious......I made it in a graham cracker crust. It came out more like a rhubarb crisp than a pie, but it was excellent. May even try it with other fruits (blueberries, perhaps) I did not double the topping as some other reviewers have. I think it would have been too sweet. The topping was perfect for the 9" pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Very Good!! After reading the other reviews I also doubled the topping, but will lessen the amount of butter next time. We found it to be a bit greasy on top, but very tasty! Not too sweet and not too tart...Just Right! Thanks for sharing, Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I LOVED IT!!! Just fabulous. I used graham wafer crust because I can't make a pastry dough to save my life, and it was just like apple crisp only with rhubarb! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This recipe was pretty good...although I only gave it 3 stars. I doubled the crumb topping for this pie. However, the topping got a little too crispy. It was almost borderline "hard". Perhaps I will try it again and see if I recieve the same results...maybe I pressed it down a little too firmly? But the pie itself tasted great...I even added some strawberries like other reviews had suggested. That was a nice summer addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE_F

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Fabulous!! I made this for my Dad as a "memories of the farm" dish for Thansgiving. He, and the non-rhubarb fans LOVED IT! Wish I had made two pies - will next year. Sweet and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLFECOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States