Crispy Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Last night I made it for the second time (added a heart-cut strawberry on top of the crust for Valentines). This time I used bran flakes because that's what I had in the house. It was still very good (more like a crisp though), but having tried the cornflakes the first time, I know that the cornflakes are MUCH better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
All my guests went on and on about how great this pie was. My husband's favorite recipe used to be the Strawberry Rhubarb, but not any longer. He said he wants me to replace it with the Crispy Rhubarb Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I love this pie, but I add strawberries to help mute the tart flavour a little. Make this all the time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Just finished baking 2 pies they look and smell great! Can't wait to try them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Forget the rhubarb!! I will make this just for the crisp and add another fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I can't say enough about this recipe. It was fantastic! It's like rhubarb crisp and rhubarb pie all in one but better than both. I followed the directions exactly and used the "best ever pie crust" recipe on this site for the crust. I used frozen rhubarb and drained it well after thawing so that my pie wouldn't be too wet. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I used a bag of frozen rhubarb which was 4 cups. I adjusted everything and added a little extra topping as suggested by someone. I used a frozen pie shell (defrosted). For some reason the pie was really wet and the pie shell was kind of mushy. Still had a good taste. Due to it being wet I gave it 4 stars and will probably try something else next time. Michele, cambridge, ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Unbelieveable! I have never had rhubarb before and I think it just might be my favorite pie ever! So easy and delicious - can't say enough about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
I really liked this recipe and it was very straightforward. The reason I gave it 4 stars was because my dad, who is a rhubarb fanatic, thought the topping was too much. I, on the other hand, was left wondering why I have poured milk on cornflakes all these years when brown sugar and melted butter is so much more delicious! :+)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Excellent pie. Easy to make and tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States