Crispy Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
The pie, overall, was okay but I didn't enjoy the topping, though my husband did. I found the topping way too greasy. If I were to make it again, rather than lessen the quantity of butter, I'd use more of the other ingredients because I would have preferred more topping. Also,if there is a next time, I'd add cinnamon to the rhubarb mixture as well as the topping. Rhubarb and cinnamon - just made to go together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by James C. Bingham
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Substituted oatmeal for the Corn Flakes. Baked for 10 minutes longer and removed it from the oven. Came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James C. Bingham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Nice when you can't decide between a crisp and a pie. I went with the walnut pieces instead of crushed cereal. Less carbs and more Omega 3 healthy fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This pie is wonderful!! I doubled the crumb topping like others suggested, and I used a little more rhubarb, about 4 1/2 cups, and it turned out perfect. Will definately be making this again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Awesome! 2 things: definitely double the topping per other reviewers and if you are using a deep pie dish like I did, you can increase your filling as well by at least a cup of rhubarb (don't forget to add an extra dash of sugar and flour to the mix as well). Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I have never made a rhubarb pie, so I had no idea if it would be any good. Being from the midwest, I've had rhubarb pies/crisps quite a few times. It's one of those things that is so specific, you don't know if everyone will like it. I decided to try this recipe and it was absolutely delicious!! And, very, very quick to prepare and easy to make. The topping really gives you the best of both worlds - pie and crisp. I used a premade pie crust and it worked great (put tinfoil around the sides, take off about 15 minutes or so before the pie is done). I was worried about the rhubarb being too tart, so I added a bit of brown sugar to the white sugar/rhubarb mix. It set up perfectly, went great with vanilla ice cream and everyone loved it. Thanks for a great, simple, delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I did not have any type of flake cereal at home so instead I ground up walnuts and used in place and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
great recipe. I had never made a rhubarb pie before and hadn't had good luck with crisps so I wasn't sure how I'd do. I've made 4 pies now with this recipe and every one of them have been fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
As a fan of rhubarb pie, I was excited to try this one! I had to make one substitution-frosted flakes for corn flakes. I did double the topping as people noted and I added a bit less brown sugar since the flakes were frosted! Yummy! Tart and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica L Antel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I was sold when I read very few changes to the original recipe. This was a hit at a Memorial Day picnic. I believe it will even convert those who think they don't like rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States