Crispy Potato Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This recipe was easy to make and tasted great, but there are two problems you should know about before baking. First, the stated bake time was a bit too long for me. I wouldn't go longer than 15 or 20 minutes per side; some of mine were burnt, and I even cut mine into larger pieces (8 wedges per potato) than the recipe recommends. Second, this recipe can leave behind a hard-to-clean mess on your pan if you aren't careful. I greased my pan (which is already non-stick) but perhaps not enough; I still can't get some of the potato-wedge marks off my pan. Next time I think I'll use lightly oiled parchment paper to avoid this problem, although oiled foil as others have tried may work as well. (Don't use waxed paper; it will burn in the oven.) Other than that, aside from cutting my wedges slightly larger (8 per potato, not 12), I added about 1/4 tsp paprika and 1/4 tsp onion powder for extra flavor. I also used olive oil instead of canola. All things considered, this recipe is easy to make and tastes great--just be sure to watch the bake time and potential cleanup issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I love these oven fries. I only made a couple of small changes. I cut the potatoes into 8 wedges instead of 12 to make the oven fries a little more substantial. Instead of salt, I used Lawry's seasoned salt. Delicious served plain, with ketchup, or topped with turkey chili and jalapeno slices. For easy clean up, I covered my baking sheets with aluminum foil and sprayed the foil with cooking spray so they wouldn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Yum! Used olive oil and seasoned salt instead of canola oil and regular salt, rest the same. 40 mins total plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Note to self: Do not make these with Yukon Gold potatoes when baking potatoes are specifed in the recipe and expect them to turn out crispy. They taste like a million bucks. But they're not crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
These are fabulous - my husband and kids gobbled 'em up before dinner was even ready! No ketchup needed, they were yummy right off the baking sheet. My oven must run hot though because I only needed 15 minutes on each side and they were perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Very tasty and simple to prepare. The recipe can be altered to pair with any main dish with a simple seasoning/spice change or addition. I cut about 10 minutes from the suggested baking time. For a crispier potato finish in the broiler with a light sprinkle of parmesian cheese (1-2 minutes). For easy clean up definetely line baking sheet with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The amount of seasoning was just right. I substituted olive oil for canola oil and added some paprika. I didn't have the pan that the recipe called for, so I used a metal pizza pan, covered it with foil, then coated it with non-stick cooking spray. My husband and I finished everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Very nice, but needed some additional flavourings for our family. I placed the potato wedges in a plastic bag, added 1 tsp of minced garlic, 1/2 tablespoon salt, 1/2 tblspn onion powder, 1/2 tblspn dried mixed italian herbs, 1/2 tsp mild paprika. The minced garlic provides enough liquid to coat all the potatos. I have also frozen some in a separate bag because the potatos I would make a handy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I added more garlic powder and some onion powder as well. Could have even used a bit more but was pleasantly surprised with flavor. I turned the broiler on for the last few minutes to crisp them up a bit more as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
These were pretty tasty!:) They were really easy to make and did not require a lot of ingredients. Thanks for sharing your recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States