Crispy Potato Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This recipe was easy to make and tasted great, but there are two problems you should know about before baking. First, the stated bake time was a bit too long for me. I wouldn't go longer than 15 or 20 minutes per side; some of mine were burnt, and I even cut mine into larger pieces (8 wedges per potato) than the recipe recommends. Second, this recipe can leave behind a hard-to-clean mess on your pan if you aren't careful. I greased my pan (which is already non-stick) but perhaps not enough; I still can't get some of the potato-wedge marks off my pan. Next time I think I'll use lightly oiled parchment paper to avoid this problem, although oiled foil as others have tried may work as well. (Don't use waxed paper; it will burn in the oven.) Other than that, aside from cutting my wedges slightly larger (8 per potato, not 12), I added about 1/4 tsp paprika and 1/4 tsp onion powder for extra flavor. I also used olive oil instead of canola. All things considered, this recipe is easy to make and tastes great--just be sure to watch the bake time and potential cleanup issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I love these oven fries. I only made a couple of small changes. I cut the potatoes into 8 wedges instead of 12 to make the oven fries a little more substantial. Instead of salt, I used Lawry's seasoned salt. Delicious served plain, with ketchup, or topped with turkey chili and jalapeno slices. For easy clean up, I covered my baking sheets with aluminum foil and sprayed the foil with cooking spray so they wouldn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Yum! Used olive oil and seasoned salt instead of canola oil and regular salt, rest the same. 40 mins total plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Note to self: Do not make these with Yukon Gold potatoes when baking potatoes are specifed in the recipe and expect them to turn out crispy. They taste like a million bucks. But they're not crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
These are fabulous - my husband and kids gobbled 'em up before dinner was even ready! No ketchup needed, they were yummy right off the baking sheet. My oven must run hot though because I only needed 15 minutes on each side and they were perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Very tasty and simple to prepare. The recipe can be altered to pair with any main dish with a simple seasoning/spice change or addition. I cut about 10 minutes from the suggested baking time. For a crispier potato finish in the broiler with a light sprinkle of parmesian cheese (1-2 minutes). For easy clean up definetely line baking sheet with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The amount of seasoning was just right. I substituted olive oil for canola oil and added some paprika. I didn't have the pan that the recipe called for, so I used a metal pizza pan, covered it with foil, then coated it with non-stick cooking spray. My husband and I finished everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Very nice, but needed some additional flavourings for our family. I placed the potato wedges in a plastic bag, added 1 tsp of minced garlic, 1/2 tablespoon salt, 1/2 tblspn onion powder, 1/2 tblspn dried mixed italian herbs, 1/2 tsp mild paprika. The minced garlic provides enough liquid to coat all the potatos. I have also frozen some in a separate bag because the potatos I would make a handy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I added more garlic powder and some onion powder as well. Could have even used a bit more but was pleasantly surprised with flavor. I turned the broiler on for the last few minutes to crisp them up a bit more as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
These were pretty tasty!:) They were really easy to make and did not require a lot of ingredients. Thanks for sharing your recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States