Crispy Potato Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
First time making these I stuck to the written recipe. Second time around I used olive oil, added paprika, rosemary and a dusting of cayenne pepper once they were in the pan. I think the cayenne gave this dish some zing that was lacking in the original recipe. I usually substitute sea salt for regular table salt as I think it imparts a better flavor and I did with this dish, as well. As others have noted, this recipe is very versatile and can be changed as per individual tastes or occasions. A winner in my view!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
They needed more flavor to me but I do like the cooking method and will play with the spices to get them to where I would like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Pretty good! As other reviewers said, I think it would be fun to experiment with adding more flavor to these with whatever happens to be in the kitchen, but they were pretty tasty as is. Instead of tossing all the ingredients in a bowl, I drizzled the oil on each side and then added the salt, pepper, and garlic powder before baking on either side. Smothered in ketchup, these were great! So they will definitely show up on our table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaraKristin1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Heck yes! But make it even better: Add more garlic, perhaps other herbs and then some bread crumbs mixed with a little parm cheese for the tossing routine. Roast as indicated. Why don't I make these more often? I can always afford the 45-50 mon mecessary to roast them. Shame on me and they are a lot tastier than plain bolied potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This was easy to prepare and it was delicious. Some are suggesting not to use Yukon Gold because the potatoes will end up mushy; that was all I had on hand and wound up letting them drain onto paper towels. By the time dinner came around, they were crisp on our plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great recipe! I baked at 400 degrees and added dried rosemary. I also used olive oil instead of canola. Definitely line your cookie sheet with foil. I added a little olive oil cooking spray to the pan to prevent from sticking. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
So good! Similar to fried potato wedges w/o the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeltown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Delicious... my entire family hoovered them up, without leaving a scrap behind. I admit that I didn't measure anything -- just drizzled the oil on the potatoes (I used olive oil), and generously dusted with garlic powder and salt, then ground black pepper over the whole shebang. I'll make these again and again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Made as stated in recipe except cut potatoes into 8 slices each and baked 20 minutes on each side. Really easy to make. Next time I might cut back on the pepper and add some other seasonings like rosemary or paprika etc. Easy to make with whatever you're feeling at the time. I used a non stick pan and had no big mess, the pan was very easy to clean up. Next time will follow some reviews that broiled a few minutes at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Better than French Fries :) Crispy on the outside and soft in the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benedicm10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wapato, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States